Ham N Egg Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
My kids devoured this and begged for more. The key is to get your potatoes good and crispy. I didn't use onion or green peppers but put in 2 sliced green onions. I also put 8 eggs in. I used cajun seasoning and seasoning salt. Will be making this often. This is better than those skillets in a bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Added a little more butter and onion and used only 3 eggs. As noted by others, it is important to let the potatoes cook undisturbed until brown and crispy. Family enjoyed very much even though I forgot the cheese. Think I would just sprinkle the cheese on anyway rather than mixing w/other ingredients. Thanks for an easy , tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
As written, it isn't bad, but needs tweaking. For one, too much potatoes and not enough egg. I would definitely make this again, but half the potatoes and double the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I guess it depends on what you determine is a medium sized potato but I found that 3 were fine. I did add an extra egg but rather than cooking it in the pan, I turned it into a 8x8 pan and baked it in the over, fritatta style. Add some fresh sliced tomatoes to the top and bon appetite! My family and friends thought it was amazing. Definitely one of our favourites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyhmv
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Like others have said this is a potato breakfast skillet. However, I was looking for a weekend breakfast, with what I had in the house, and found this. I was afraid the potatoes would not cook fully so I par-boiled the them after I peeled and large chopped them. The other changes I made was I used Cabot 50% less fat cheddar cheese, I grated, and sauteed the potato cubes in vegetable oil instead of butter to reduce the saturated fat. When it was first done, I didn't think it had a lot of flavor. So, I ended up adding about a pinch of garlic salt and the same amount of onion powder. It greatly improved the flavor. Plus, for some reason after it sat 5-10 minutes the potatoes sort of softened and the flavors blended even more. It was a little time consuming, for my typical breakfast, but it worked good for the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Instead of ham I added 1/2 pound of country sausage. I cooked the sausage first and drained it and set aside. I used the grease from the sausage to saute onions, bell peppers and mushroom. I had to add a little butter to the vegetables to have enough grease to ssaute. It was excellent! I will fix this again! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonners

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eminence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bergy
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was tasty & attractive but I felt it needed a bit more oomph. Perhaps served with a BBQ sauce. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
We love breakfast type recipes for supper. This was great ~ fast and easy and inexpensive. I use red potatoes and don't bother to peel them. My husband prefers Velveeta cheese, so I used a couple slices of that. I also used a dozen fresh eggs, medium to large size, just because I had and abundance of eggs and wanted to get them used up. I put about 1/3 cup of water in while beating the eggs to make them fluffy. My family wants this to be a regular on the menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I needed a hearty tasty dish for a spur of the moment today. This hit the spot. I used one russet potato, as this was all I had on hand. I had a mix of red, green, and orange bell peppers, with 2 garlic cloves, chopped, I cooked the potatoes in butter until it was a nice golden brown color and crispy. I seasoned it with salt and black pepper. Then I threw in the bell peppers, chopped red onion, garlic, and a 1/2 cup of cooked ham. I also used 3 eggs mixed with half n half and poured right in the middle of the pan where it could cook and set. I slowly stirred it to incorporate it. When the eggs looked like they were almost done I turned off the heat and covered it for a minute. When i served this it wa then I sprinkled of a mixture of white and yellow cheeses. This was a colorful dish with red, orange, bright green bell peppers mixed in with the potatoes. The potatoes were crispy yet tender to the bite. Eggs were fluffed up enough and melted with cheese. In each forkfull I had soft scrambled eggs, crispy potatoes, ham, veggies all oozing with cheese, and seasoned just right. A very satisfying meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Good. I'd like to try with crumbled bacon as well. Maybe less cheese next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States