Ham N Cheese Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Great basic one-pot recipe. I always love basic recipes that you can use and by adding things make my own. The first time I made this, I used all the ingredients called for in the original recipe. The second time I made this, I did not have sour cream or a can of condensed potato soup. So, instead I used a package of cream cheese, a half of pint of heavy cream and a can of condensed mushroom soup. Both times I also used 16 oz of shredded cheddar cheese. It turned out great both ways!!! A totally yum recipe that can be made for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I am going to make it for my mother's group. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I made this for a potluck at church and it was one of the first dishes to go! It was simple to make and my family loved it. The only thing different I did was add garlic and saute it with the ham and onions before mixing it with the other ingredients. Great casserole recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Great comfort food!! I made this the other night for supper, and got rave reviews from my husband and son! Had some substitutes, used about 3/4 of a med block of Velveta in place of cheddar cheese soup and used 2 cans of cr of potatoe, very creamy!! Leftovers are even better. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Great recipe. Very rich and tummy filling. I realized after baking it I left out the sour cream accidently...and it was still great! I am sure if I make it correctly it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I'm 9 months pregnant and I've been looking for recipes that i can make and freeze to heat up once baby is here. I made this and cut it in half to freeze half. I haven't had much of an appetite, and I'm really picky but i couldn't stop eating these leftovers! It was so yummy! I made it almost exactly as written, but I left out the onions, because my hubby isn't a fan. I have made it 2xs this month already! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime McCormick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
my family loved this recipe...however i did some things differently. i used a 13x9 in. dish. i didn't have frozen potatoes so i used about 6-7 real potatoes diced up somewhat thin. i layered the potatoes into the greased dish and added deli thin ham & then sprinkled cheese over top. then i mixed the cheddar cheese soup, cream of mushroom, & about 1/4 cup of french onion chip dip(*i didn't have sour cream*)poured that over top of the potatoes and ham. added more cheese on top and baked at 400 degrees for 45 mins. came out perfectly...very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBECK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I made this and my family really enjoyed it. I did use fresh potatoes that I had precooked, cooled and cubed. I also added broccoli at the end (so it didn't get mushy). My 5 year old said gross when he saw it, but loved it when he tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was awesome! I didn't expect it to come out so creamy, almost like a chowder. I didn't have potato soup, so used a bit of milk with it. Next time I will try leaving the milk out and maybe not as much sour cream, or add more potatoes. Not sure yet, but we still loved it. I crumbled up some saltines in mine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Hendrickson Butts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Excellent! I used southern style hash-browns. Made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Very easy to make yet very, very good! I did use 30oz bag of hash browns per some reviews and it seemed just right. I also used honey ham which tasted wonderful. I like lots of cheese, so I doubled the cheddar. I served this with steamed broccoli on the side. (Gotta love those steam-in-the-microwave veggie bags!) This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States