Ham 'n' Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Muffins had a nice texture but were a little bland perhaps because I omitted the cumin. Did add some salt and chopped green onions. Would like to make again but it needs something to jazz up the flavour (garlic powder, more salt?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Easy to make. I left out the cumin and added a 4 ounce can of green chiles. Went over well at our brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Good! I read the other reviews and switched it up a bit. I didn't have ham, so I used bacon. Also, I'm not super hot for cumin, so I did 1/4tsp cumin and 1/4tsp salt since there were other comments that the muffins were bland. I would say it's the muffin batter that was less flavorful, and maybe next time add some onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Family loved these muffins better than the cheesy biscuits I have been making. They take less time and are flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICE6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savoy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
These muffs were very good with the deletion of the cumin and addition(s) of garlic powder dried minced onion and a healthy dose of Dijon Mustard ... (re-hydrated dried onions in the buttermilk) I also used a combination of sharp cheddar and Swiss (more cheddar than Swiss)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
really good. I thought I had dry mustard, but I didn't so I used a healthy squirt of yellow mustard.. added some pepper and garlic. Used low fat chese and canadian bacon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I was looking for a big batch of grab and go breakfast stuff that I could freeze. Since I'm not a big fan of cumin, next time I'll leave that out and add some dijon mustard. The texture was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I used a mixture of whole wheat flour and AP flour in this recipe so I did need a little more buttermilk than what was called for. I thought about leaving the cumin out at the last minute, only because......we'll, I didn't think it would work, to be honest but against my better judgement, I left it in. I'm sure it's just personal taste, that it might just be us who didn't like it. My littlest, who loves muffins, didn't even finish half of one muffin. These turned out really moist, if not a little greasy. I think I'd like to play around with the recipe a little. I think it could use a little fresh garlic and maybe some green onion. Oh, and I got twelve largeish muffins out of one recipe, not eighteen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
These muffins had a nice flavor. Because baking powder is used, and not soda, I used skim milk, not buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
The taste was not right with these muffins. Too much cumin I think. I added some onion and garlic powder as suggested by another review and that seemed ok, they definitely were not bland - they just didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States