Ham Loaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A few tweaks, as this isn't quite the recipe I was looking for and I haven't found it on this site. This is my MIL's-it's great! I use 1 lb ground ham, 1 lb ground beef, 3/4 c. graham cracker crumbs, 2 egss, 1/2 c. milk, plus seasonings (onion, garlic,salt, pepper) Mix loaf. For sauce, 1 can tomato soup, 1/2 or so dark brown sugar, 1/4 c. apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp ground mustard and 1 tbs Worchester, mix together, pour sauce on loaf. 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Yes it was awful! I would leave out the vinegar.. it gives it too uch of a twang. Made it have a spoiled meat taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Just like my family recipe. Terrific! Our tradition is to make gravy with the extra glaze/drppings. Sweet and delicious over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Really tasty! Very quick to put together. We Loved the sauce especially after I added 1/4 tsp. of ground cloves to it. Otherwise I did not alter any thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Been looking to make a ham loaf since my grandmother passed away (hers was an absolute favorite of mine). Finally got around to it and must say that this recipe was spot on!! I did make a couple of substitutions. I used ground turkey instead of ground pork and graham cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. I also shaped the meat into several little loaves and baked for 1 hour. My 2 year old devoured a giant portion. No need to look any further for a ham loaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
THIS is my Great-Grandmother's recipe almost exactly! The only difference is graham cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. We had this every Christmas and Easter! I have tried other recipes since she passed away, but this one is IT!! Thank you so much for posting it, every other recipe was missing "something", this was only missing the graham cracker crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
My husband can be hard to please, but he absolutely loved this! We both enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Thanks! I haven't had this since I was a kid! I made it exactly as written and the whole "picky" family liked it! It was very authentic and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Ham Loaf is a favorite in our house. This is an excellent recipe to try. I differ the glaze recipe, just a little. I use: 1 c. brown sugar, 1 t. dry mustard, 1/2 c. vinegar & 1/2 c. water. I bring that mixture to a boil and reduce and simmer for 2 minutes. I then pour the sauce over the ham loaf and bake & baste the entire 90 minutes. Added a salad, baked potato and 'Kim's Garlic Breadsticks' from AR and we had a terrific dinner. Thanks Pam for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I've never had ham loaf before but my husband is from southeastern PA (York) and he had it as a lad and young man. So I tried this recipe and said it was right on. So thank you! I also enjoyed it and will be making this again. I only had 1 pound of ground pork so I used that. It was a bit crumbly so maybe that was from using not quite enough ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States