Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I used side bacon cut into 1cm cubes... Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Thus is excellent! My husband doesn't like rosemary so I used herb de provence and only used half the quantity. Other than that I followed it exactly. A huge hit! Will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. Easy to tweak to your family's taste. Don't like rosemary, use something else, sage would be nice. So much can be down with it.. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I basically stayed true to the recipe I did cut back on the rosemary This is what I used 8 cups chicken stock (mix of can of stock and bouillon cubes) • 4 cups cubed Country ham (brown sugar smoked with apple) Yep my own home cured • 2 tablespoons dried rosemary (give or Take)Home grown dried • 1 pounds bacon, diced (Savory smoked with mahogany) yes my own • 2 large onions, diced (yellow)Home grown • 3 leeks, diced ( store Bought) • 6 cloves garlic, minced (or more) home grown • 6 green onions, diced home grown • 3 large potatoes, cubed (50 count) (Noonan organic ) (peeled and chopped into 3/8 sq. app • 1 pound carrots, cubed (home grown) Danvers half long • 2 cups heavy cream ( no cow so this was purchased)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FINHNTR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I used some leftover mashed potatoes as well as cubed potatoes. I also had some leftover cauliflower that I added to this recipe. It was delicious! I am not a big fan of rosemary so I omitted it and just used salt and pepper to flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Made as written except decreased rosemary- disappointed - a lot of work for mediocre soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Green onions and leeks are overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Oh wow, this was amazing! Was a great way to use left over ham and various other veggies that I had in the fridge - specifically my leeks! I may use red potatoes or Yukon golds next time but that's about the only switch I would make. I'm freezing half of it as well and setting in serving sizes so I can take it to work for a healthier warm up versus normal canned soups. Definitely adding to my rotation of recipes....labor intensive at first but very worth it! Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very tasty. I added a bay leaf and some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I only added the first portion of rosemary. Best. soup. ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States