Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was very good. The only changes I will make the next time will be to be sure and drain the ham/onion mixture before adding it to the potatoes. I would also stir the sauce into the casserole rather than just pouring it over the top. The flavor was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
My family loved it. I don't agree that it will serve 8. At least not 8 adults. I think 4-6 is a more accurate number. I was rushed for time so I used southern style frozen has browns (the chunks, not shredded)and ham already cubed. (It comes vacuum packed in a zip bag) I think next time I might use frozen O'Brian potatoes and that way I won't have to mess with chopping the onions and peppers. I just threw the frozen potatoes in the butter with the ham, onions, and pepper and cooked them until they were thawed and warm. I cooked the carrots and celery in the microwave just a few minutes until they started getting tender. Talk about fast and easy! It was delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavonda Pflug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was very well recieved by the family. I skipped the roux and added 1/3 cup cheese blend powder to the milk and only used enough shredded cheddar to sprinkle a token amount over the top. This helped me keep the fat down but it remained creamy and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a great way to use up ham and potatoes and it is wonderfully filling. I agree that if you have a big appetite this will feed about 4-6 adults and stirring the sauce into the potatoes helps get it distributed because it is pretty thick. Next time I will saute all my veggies and only boil the potatoes and some broccoli. The sauce was very cheesy (yum) but next time I will add a little nutmeg and some sour cream and use some parmesan too for a little more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Wow, very nice! I substituted frozen peas and carrots for the bell pepper. I doubled the amount of potato and doubled the cheese sauce. So glad I did. It needed pepper. I loved the sauce and there was lots of it. Next time I would add more ham and peas/peas and carrots. Definitely comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made this tonight and followed the recipe except for the green pepper (I do not like cooked green pepper!) and it was a family hit! We sat around the table talking about the next time I make it that I should add broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms and could even put it in pie crust to make it like a pot pie. This will definitely be a make again and I may try changing it up with sausage, smoked sausage, or other meats! 5+ Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
It was a hit but will need to make a larger amount so that 3 adults can have more leftovers. We barely had enough for leftovers due to seconds. I have been looking for ways to use up leftover ham and we now have a winner. It would be easy to substitute any other veggie that might be available in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I liked this one, I did decide to add a little milk and cheese to increase the sauce. I added very little salt & pepper and used white Cheddar and mozzarella cheese. It was still very flavorful. The breadcrumbs are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My whole family loved this. Three small russet potatoes and a 12 oz ham steak were perfect. I almost left out the green pepper, but I'm glad I didn't. I also made 1 1/2 times the sauce so there would be no chance of it turning out dry. For the bread crumb topping, I mixed them with 2T melted butter. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
We love this, and make it everytime we have left over ham. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States