Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe. It was delicious, next time will leave off bread crumbs and sprinkle cheddar cheese on top and will add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was surprisingly delicious. We had tons of ham leftover so I decided to give this one a try and my husband really enjoyed it as well. The only substitution that I recommend is crushed cornflakes on top instead of breadcrumbs. I used a little extra ham and potatoes, just to use it up which was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I just wrote a review of this recipe and LOVED this cassrole, but I forgot to mention that I added melted butter to Panko bread crumbs and used that for the topping - made a nice crunch. Also, I didn't have any bell peppers so I didn't use them - only onion. I used 1/4 tsp. of both salt and pepper in the roux which was perfect for our taste. This casserole is one of our favorites and an excellent way to use left-over ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very simple and a great way to use up leftovers we had from Christmas. Had leftover ham and some oven potatoes that I diced up with the rest of the vegis. True test was that the kids had seconds and that never happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is quite good! A wonderful comfort food. I pretty much followed the recipe, except I did not boil the celery with the potatoes and carrots. Instead, I sauteed it with the ham, onion and green pepper. It added a nice bit of crunch to the finished product. I also added two cups of cheese, as I love cheese, and thought the cheesier the better. That meant I added a bit more milk as well, although I am not sure how much- I just eyeballed it. Finally, I put all of the ingredients (except the bread crumbs) in a big bowl, and tossed it with the sauce to coat. Then I put it in the casserole dish, topped with the bread crumbs, and baked. YUM! Very tasty, and an excellent use of leftover ham :) Nest time, I may add some garlic, and maybe some peas. I also think this would be good with Swiss cheese! But delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I am not a huge casserole fan, but this one is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This casserole is perfect for what it's supposed to be: warm and cozy comfort food. Even though I didn't have some of the ingredients (celery or bell peppers, which my kids wouldn't eat anyway), this casserole was very tasty. The only thing I added was to season with fresh ground pepper at each step, not just when making the cheese sauce. The casserole had plenty of flavor and was a great way to use up leftover ham. We all had seconds and there's enough left for my lunch tomorrow. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a great way to use up ham and potatoes and it is wonderfully filling. I agree that if you have a big appetite this will feed about 4-6 adults and stirring the sauce into the potatoes helps get it distributed because it is pretty thick. Next time I will saute all my veggies and only boil the potatoes and some broccoli. The sauce was very cheesy (yum) but next time I will add a little nutmeg and some sour cream and use some parmesan too for a little more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
We loved it. I made as it is just I added broccoli,and I'm glad I did because my kids are picky eaters,one of them had never eat broccoli but this time he ate it all and asked for more. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very good! I don't use green peppers so we used orange for this recipe but kept everything else the same. The girls (ages 15, 17, and 18) loved it. The husband said that he didn't like the peppers (not a surprise) but realized they were important so said to make it the same way next time. Victory! This dinner made a lot of dirty dishes though. Going to try to modify the cooking (maybe use a dutch oven) to reduce that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States