Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Boring. I guess I expected more from this one, because the recipe looked very promising. The first time I make something from a recipe I follow it to the letter before I start playing around with it, but the sauce was just plain bland and thick. We could barely taste the cheese, and I used sharp cheddar. Next time I would cut the flour in half, and add more cheese. Additionally, this recipe would in no way feed eight people (adults) unless you had a lot of sides to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This was great in the slow cooker as well. I skipped the boiling and sauteeing steps and put all of the raw veggies and ham in the slow cooker, then made the cheese sauce and mixed it in with the meat and veggies. Cooked on High for 3 hours. The cheese sauce initially looked too thick- but it thins out a lot while cooking so by the end it was a perfect consistency for casserole. When it was done I added the breadcrumbs and stuck the crock under the broiler for a few min. The green pepper adds that extra something that most ham and potato casseroles are lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I've tried this recipe twice and both times I custom make it to what we all prefer and I make it based on how much ham is left over. I don't use butter often so for the onion and ham I heated with coconut oil. I also used whole wheat flour and that worked just fine for the sauce! My family has loved this recipe twice , we literally eat ham once or twice a year, so for the day after, this is perfect! Next time I may try with a different vegetable, maybe yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe was extremely good. I had sharp cheddar on hand so that's what I used, and also used skim milk. Followed rest of recipe exactly. I agree that it only serves 6, at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was really good. I never thought to use a cheese sauce with potatoes, but this will definitely be in my recipe box. I did make a few changes (so rated 4 star): I sautéed all the veggies (other than the potatoes) in a bit of butter and oil. I also added 2 tablespoons stone-ground mustard to the cheese sauce, to give it a bit of an extra zip. I used panko, and worked in about 2 T of butter into them before spreading on top, giving them an extra crunch. Otherwise I followed the directions as printed, and it turned out very well. I can see adding broccoli to it, and/or cauliflower. Maybe some peas. But really good, and I agree, the number of servings seems off. My husband and I just ate half of it for dinner, and probably will eat the other half tomorrow...and we're not really big eaters. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
The whole family loved it!! We had to make more, just so everyone could have seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I am not a casserole person but this was really yummy. I added about two tbsp of sherry to give it a subtle sweetness and it was wonderful. I also used seasoned panko instead of breadcrumbs and it complemented the dish very nicely. Perfect for the cold snowy weather we are experiencing in CT. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Not bad. Next time I'd add more veggies and use croutons instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
It was just ok. The potatoes & carrot need to be undercooked prior to going into the casserole, as they continue cooking in the oven. The sauce needs to be cooked for quite a while to blend the flavours so it doesn't taste like flour paste. Additional cheese would help too. It was rather bland. Not great, but not bad. I might use it as a starter base if I had the leftover ham & potatoes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This was good but next time I would add half the green peppers they were over powering and I would skip the rue and make a sauce similar to one used in cheesy hash browns and add a packet of dry ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States