Ham Cake-ettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I actually ran the ham and the green onions together through my food processor to get the fine consistancy that I was looking for. I actually fried these in my cast iron skillet in a mixture of EVOO and butter. I did not try these myself but my husband and kids thought they were MONEY. NO leftovers. I think these would be excellent for breakfast as a substitute for hashbrowns with a side of sunny side up eggs and bacon. This recipe is SUCH a keeper--thumbs up from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
oh my goodness, avon! these are DELICIOUS! i made them tonite for a snack. we didn't really have dinner. i had to stop myself after the fourth one, cuz someone else may want some! LOL. i had two cups of mashed taters, so i used them up. i did however forget to add the dill. i have no explanation, so i look at it this way...another layer of flavour to look forward to the next time. there will absolutely be a next time. oh, i opted not to fry and baked them at 375 deg for 45 min. turning them halfway. nice and crisp on the outside. YUM! thanks for sharing with us Avon :) okay....update. i was very fortunate to have one leftover. i had it for breakfast the next morning with a fried over easy egg draped over top. it was amazing. you have no idea. you must try this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I thought these were 'good' but not 5 star. I think I would have liked them better if they had more ham, less potatoes, but I would make them again as a side dish for breakfast with eggs and toast. I had a problem with mine breaking in the frying pan when I turned them. Maybe another egg would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
KEEPER ALERT! These are super yummy! I followed the recipe exactly, measuring everything so I wouldn't fail. I used my Pampered Chef food chopper to finely chop the ham. I put the patties together in the morning, then refrigerated them until dinner time. It made cooking dinner so easy. I only had to fry them about 3 minutes on each side and they were done. I served "Mustard Mayonnaise Sauce" from this site to accompany them along with a side of asparagus. This is a real winner and will be served many times over at our house. I just love having something new to make out of left-over ham. The crunch is my favorite part, be sure to use "panko" crumbs. Thank you Avon for sharing this SUPER YUMMY recipe---you rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Don't make my mistake! I used instant mashed potatoes and got a gluey, soft, tasteless patty. I added extra instant potato to the mix and put it in the fridge for an hour before frying thinking I was so smart. Not so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Anne, these are AMAZING! Seriously. I could not believe the flavor that came out of these few simple ingredients. Wonderful flavor, wonderful crunch and just downright delicious! I was planning to serve these w/ some sort of dipping sauce, but after tasting one, I decided that they didn't need anything. I also loved how these were all ingredients that I always have on hand...I think these would be great alongside some scrambled eggs or an omelet. These will definitely be making the rounds @ my house! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I made these for hubby's birthday breakfast. He loved them. Great flavor and very easy to put together. Served these with fried eggs. Yummy! I put the ham in a food processor because I was being lazy and didn't want to do it by hand. Great way to use leftover ham and taters. Thanks for the recipe Avon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This was fantastic. I doubled the recipe and got 10 patties and had to fight so that I could even get one. Everyone in my family loved it. The girls and I had a fried egg on top and it was extra good. Highly recommended. I cooked some chopped white onion in butter before adding to the mixture and left out the dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Not sure if I did something wrong, being that so many other people had such great results. I followed the recipe exactly, but I used CountryCrock garlic mashed potatoes from the refrigerated section of the grocery store. They came out so mushy that they fell apart in the frying pan, and made such a mess. I think I will try these again, only with homemade leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
nice new way to use up leftover ham! I omitted the salt and dill weed, personal preference, I didn't have green onions so I finely chopped an onion and sauteed until transluscent, used Italian bread crumbs because I was out of panko, added some Mrs Dash, served with salad, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States