Ham Cake-ettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
'Didn't mind these, but would've liked them with less or without the dijon - perhaps the ham, too; just potato pancakes. 'Might make again; might not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Served this as an emergency dinner when hungry "orphans" showed up to eat. Everyone absolutely loved these - so much so that I ended only nabbing one. We'll certainly make these again. What a great use of leftovers. My thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I don't like leaving such a negative review, but I followed this recipe exactly and we did NOT care for these at all. They were bland and not what we expected. Won't be making these again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very good. Next time I would add 1 more egg for better binding and a 1/4 clove of minced garlic for taste. Maybe 2 green onion instead of 3. Also should let mixture sit in fridge for 30 min prior to making I to patties and fry immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Had to use up some leftovers from christmas, I thought way not give it a try. This is the best thing I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
It is a nice change for leftover ham. It was amazing. I used my food chopper to chop the ham. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very good; close match to a crab cake recipe I used to make (swap ham for crab and you're there), but my kids don't like crab... this made everyone happy. Like others, I put the ham & onions through the food processor before mixing in. I also adapted mine to be gluten-free (allergies) by swapping the breadcrumbs out for a combo of pre-packaged GF "breadcrumbs", almond meal, and pinch of corn meal, used only on the outside for the fried crisp texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was good tasting, I used the ham and some mini turkey pepperoni's (really good). I doubled the ingredients (except the meat) because I had more mashed potatoes. I used parsley in place of the dill and italian seasoned panko for the outside. The dijon really gives these a nice flavor! My only complaint is that they really soak up the vegetable oil so I had to use too much and they wanted to come apart easily while frying. They need another binder I think, as I did use extra bread crumbs. I ended up only frying about 6 of them because I ran out of oil. So I plopped the rest of the mix into a small casserole (over a layer of panko), topped it with cheddar cheese and more panko, and i'm gonna bake it till I think it's done at 400. Ty for a yummy way to use left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Just tried this recipe three times with left over flavor-packed buttermilk garlic mashed potatoes from last night's dinner. The first time I substituted finely chopped onion for the scallions and learned that the potato mixture definitely needs additional panko. The second time I removed the dried dill, because I thought it clashed and suggested there would be a seafood ingredient in the mix (think crab cake.) Third time was the charm; I did a quick pan-fry with the ham and onions before adding to the dill-free potato mixture. The flavor of the onion and ham were fantastic and added much needed golden color to the insides of the potato cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Great idea. I totally tweaked this recipe for my own liking. I didn't have L/O mashed potatoes so I baked and used tater tots (chopped up) in replacement for that. I also used my own spice profile and shaped ham mix into golf ball size. Then I dipped those in egg/milk mix and rolled in panko type bread crumbs. I then froze them on a baking sheet & piled into a zip bag. I also made a pineapple sweet/sour type glaze and tossed the previously frozen ~ then deep fried ham balls in that. Awesome and thanks for the base idea Avon. Get creative I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States