Ham Cake-ettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Anne, these are AMAZING! Seriously. I could not believe the flavor that came out of these few simple ingredients. Wonderful flavor, wonderful crunch and just downright delicious! I was planning to serve these w/ some sort of dipping sauce, but after tasting one, I decided that they didn't need anything. I also loved how these were all ingredients that I always have on hand...I think these would be great alongside some scrambled eggs or an omelet. These will definitely be making the rounds @ my house! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
oh my goodness, avon! these are DELICIOUS! i made them tonite for a snack. we didn't really have dinner. i had to stop myself after the fourth one, cuz someone else may want some! LOL. i had two cups of mashed taters, so i used them up. i did however forget to add the dill. i have no explanation, so i look at it this way...another layer of flavour to look forward to the next time. there will absolutely be a next time. oh, i opted not to fry and baked them at 375 deg for 45 min. turning them halfway. nice and crisp on the outside. YUM! thanks for sharing with us Avon :) okay....update. i was very fortunate to have one leftover. i had it for breakfast the next morning with a fried over easy egg draped over top. it was amazing. you have no idea. you must try this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I actually ran the ham and the green onions together through my food processor to get the fine consistancy that I was looking for. I actually fried these in my cast iron skillet in a mixture of EVOO and butter. I did not try these myself but my husband and kids thought they were MONEY. NO leftovers. I think these would be excellent for breakfast as a substitute for hashbrowns with a side of sunny side up eggs and bacon. This recipe is SUCH a keeper--thumbs up from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I made these for hubby's birthday breakfast. He loved them. Great flavor and very easy to put together. Served these with fried eggs. Yummy! I put the ham in a food processor because I was being lazy and didn't want to do it by hand. Great way to use leftover ham and taters. Thanks for the recipe Avon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Here's another 5 star recommendation for these little yummies! The requirements for the recipe are spot on perfect. Please do make sure that your panko does not have extra ingredients added (there are so many new varieties) because otherwise you will want to adjust the salt factor. Thanks for a perfect use of leftovers, Avon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Good stuff Avon! Tastes like cheesy ham and potatoes. Easy to put together and cook. Cheesy mashed potatoes would be great in this! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Don't make my mistake! I used instant mashed potatoes and got a gluey, soft, tasteless patty. I added extra instant potato to the mix and put it in the fridge for an hour before frying thinking I was so smart. Not so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is the best thing I have ever made with left over ham. The kids loved that they could help make the patties. Once cooked they didn't leave a crumb on their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
When I first laid eyes on this recipe I knew I was going to make it. Definitely a keeper and I won’t wait for leftovers to make these again. I’ll go buy a small ham steak just to make these again. DW, who follows her Weight Watchers to a tee, threw caution to the wind and ate three of these. Now my only problem is which folder I will file it under in my recipe box. These Cake-ettes could be a main, a side or made smaller for appetizers and can be served at breakfast, lunch or dinner. If anyone is skeptical about the dill weed, fear not, it adds a depth of flavor without calling attention to itself. Thanks Avon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is so good. My husband who hates any kind of potatoes said he would eat it again! I didnt add any ham bc I was looking for a side for dinner and had leftover mashed potatoes so decided to do this. Used herbed panko crumbs so didnt add any salt or dried dill. I cant wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States