Ham Cake-ettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are AMAZING! We absolutely loved them! I doubled the recipe & had leftovers for breakfast w/eggs the next morning. Thank YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I had to read this one more time before reviewing because I was so sure I forgot the cheese. Nope, no cheese, and as much as my head told me it needed it, the flavor says it doesn't. I had a fat slice of leftover ham (which looked to be about the right amount), made three medium red potatoes that ended up being a little more than asked for and baked these. The mustard aroma and flavor really come through and I thought the ratio of other ingredients was good for us. Obviously I didn't measure exactly but close and ended up with 4@ 4" and 6@ about 3". I fried a leftover this morning with cooking spray and it was better than just baked so I can only imagine how much better these would be fried in oil. Maybe next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These were awesome! I made 2 changes. I omitted the green onions because I didn't have any. Next time I will definately add them because it will only make it better. Due to gluten-intolerance I used corn flake crumbs rather than panko. These were perfectly seasoned and nicely crisp on the outside. The inside was smooth and had a wonderful texture. I will definately make these again soon! *note: I think next time I may try using left over cheesy mashed potatoes. I think those would taste great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These are quite tasty. Mixed them up early in the day and rolled them in the panko crumbs just before cooking. Did not have Dijon but used Spicy Southwestern mustard instead, which was quite good. Mixed a couple of tablespoons of butter with same of olive oil to fry and had to repeat amounts for second batch. Thanks for sharing a wonderful way to use up the last remnants of that Easter ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I thought these were 'good' but not 5 star. I think I would have liked them better if they had more ham, less potatoes, but I would make them again as a side dish for breakfast with eggs and toast. I had a problem with mine breaking in the frying pan when I turned them. Maybe another egg would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is so good. My husband who hates any kind of potatoes said he would eat it again! I didnt add any ham bc I was looking for a side for dinner and had leftover mashed potatoes so decided to do this. Used herbed panko crumbs so didnt add any salt or dried dill. I cant wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
When I first laid eyes on this recipe I knew I was going to make it. Definitely a keeper and I won’t wait for leftovers to make these again. I’ll go buy a small ham steak just to make these again. DW, who follows her Weight Watchers to a tee, threw caution to the wind and ate three of these. Now my only problem is which folder I will file it under in my recipe box. These Cake-ettes could be a main, a side or made smaller for appetizers and can be served at breakfast, lunch or dinner. If anyone is skeptical about the dill weed, fear not, it adds a depth of flavor without calling attention to itself. Thanks Avon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is the best thing I have ever made with left over ham. The kids loved that they could help make the patties. Once cooked they didn't leave a crumb on their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Don't make my mistake! I used instant mashed potatoes and got a gluey, soft, tasteless patty. I added extra instant potato to the mix and put it in the fridge for an hour before frying thinking I was so smart. Not so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Good stuff Avon! Tastes like cheesy ham and potatoes. Easy to put together and cook. Cheesy mashed potatoes would be great in this! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States