Ham Cake-ettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Didn't have any green onions or dill, but still turned out fantastic, many thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
What a WONDERFUL way to use up leftover ham and mashed potatoes. I’ll admit to not having leftover potatoes, so I had to make some up and cool them for this recipe. I made a batch and a half so that I would have leftovers. Nope, no leftovers, my family LOVED them and ate them all in one sitting. I made as written, but used coconut oil to fry them in. I was surprised that they take quite a bit of oil. I served this with ‘Mustard Mayonnaise Sauce’ another AR recipe that SHORECOOK suggested. It was the perfect topping for these cake-ettes. Thanks Avon for sharing your recipe! I will be making this again. This would also be great as a breakfast item served with over-easy eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Excellent recipe. I did use regular chopped onions instead of green onions. While eating them we discussed many uses and varieties that could be done with this recipe. They would be good as part of a breakfast menu, or layered into a casserole dish and topped with panko and then baked for a healthier and faster version, or just simply mashed potatoes without the panko. I will make again in some fashion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
KEEPER ALERT! These are super yummy! I followed the recipe exactly, measuring everything so I wouldn't fail. I used my Pampered Chef food chopper to finely chop the ham. I put the patties together in the morning, then refrigerated them until dinner time. It made cooking dinner so easy. I only had to fry them about 3 minutes on each side and they were done. I served "Mustard Mayonnaise Sauce" from this site to accompany them along with a side of asparagus. This is a real winner and will be served many times over at our house. I just love having something new to make out of left-over ham. The crunch is my favorite part, be sure to use "panko" crumbs. Thank you Avon for sharing this SUPER YUMMY recipe---you rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Tried this recipe to use up all the mashed potatoes leftover from Thanksgiving. Made without supstitutions. YUMMMY!!! The dijon and green onions play a key role in the flavors. Don't skip them they arent overpowering, just adds the depth that is needed. To get the small dice of ham I used my Pampered Chef food chopper. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Aiono

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
DH loved these. Made 7 nice size patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This was fantastic. I doubled the recipe and got 10 patties and had to fight so that I could even get one. Everyone in my family loved it. The girls and I had a fried egg on top and it was extra good. Highly recommended. I cooked some chopped white onion in butter before adding to the mixture and left out the dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just happened to have some leftover diced ham and mashed potatoes in the frig when I stumbled upon this recipe in the Most Recent Reviews and decided to give it a try for breakfast. The only thing I didn't have was green onion, so I subbed some dried minced and I always use yellow mustard in lieu of dijon per personal preference. I elected to heat a pat of butter on a griddle instead of the 1/2 C of oil and had no issues w/breakage. While these won't replace my leftover mashed potato go to ("Scottish Bubble and Squeak" from this site), they will be a way to use leftover ham and mashed potatoes for a delicious breakfast! THANKS for the recipe, Avon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Very good. I'm a cheese person so i did miss that but will add next time. I followed the recipe except for green onions. Came out good and my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roy
Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Not sure if I did something wrong, being that so many other people had such great results. I followed the recipe exactly, but I used CountryCrock garlic mashed potatoes from the refrigerated section of the grocery store. They came out so mushy that they fell apart in the frying pan, and made such a mess. I think I will try these again, only with homemade leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States