Ham Cake-ettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This was fantastic. I doubled the recipe and got 10 patties and had to fight so that I could even get one. Everyone in my family loved it. The girls and I had a fried egg on top and it was extra good. Highly recommended. I cooked some chopped white onion in butter before adding to the mixture and left out the dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just happened to have some leftover diced ham and mashed potatoes in the frig when I stumbled upon this recipe in the Most Recent Reviews and decided to give it a try for breakfast. The only thing I didn't have was green onion, so I subbed some dried minced and I always use yellow mustard in lieu of dijon per personal preference. I elected to heat a pat of butter on a griddle instead of the 1/2 C of oil and had no issues w/breakage. While these won't replace my leftover mashed potato go to ("Scottish Bubble and Squeak" from this site), they will be a way to use leftover ham and mashed potatoes for a delicious breakfast! THANKS for the recipe, Avon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Very good. I'm a cheese person so i did miss that but will add next time. I followed the recipe except for green onions. Came out good and my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roy
Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Not sure if I did something wrong, being that so many other people had such great results. I followed the recipe exactly, but I used CountryCrock garlic mashed potatoes from the refrigerated section of the grocery store. They came out so mushy that they fell apart in the frying pan, and made such a mess. I think I will try these again, only with homemade leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
nice new way to use up leftover ham! I omitted the salt and dill weed, personal preference, I didn't have green onions so I finely chopped an onion and sauteed until transluscent, used Italian bread crumbs because I was out of panko, added some Mrs Dash, served with salad, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are AMAZING! We absolutely loved them! I doubled the recipe & had leftovers for breakfast w/eggs the next morning. Thank YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I had to read this one more time before reviewing because I was so sure I forgot the cheese. Nope, no cheese, and as much as my head told me it needed it, the flavor says it doesn't. I had a fat slice of leftover ham (which looked to be about the right amount), made three medium red potatoes that ended up being a little more than asked for and baked these. The mustard aroma and flavor really come through and I thought the ratio of other ingredients was good for us. Obviously I didn't measure exactly but close and ended up with 4@ 4" and 6@ about 3". I fried a leftover this morning with cooking spray and it was better than just baked so I can only imagine how much better these would be fried in oil. Maybe next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These were awesome! I made 2 changes. I omitted the green onions because I didn't have any. Next time I will definately add them because it will only make it better. Due to gluten-intolerance I used corn flake crumbs rather than panko. These were perfectly seasoned and nicely crisp on the outside. The inside was smooth and had a wonderful texture. I will definately make these again soon! *note: I think next time I may try using left over cheesy mashed potatoes. I think those would taste great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These are quite tasty. Mixed them up early in the day and rolled them in the panko crumbs just before cooking. Did not have Dijon but used Spicy Southwestern mustard instead, which was quite good. Mixed a couple of tablespoons of butter with same of olive oil to fry and had to repeat amounts for second batch. Thanks for sharing a wonderful way to use up the last remnants of that Easter ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I thought these were 'good' but not 5 star. I think I would have liked them better if they had more ham, less potatoes, but I would make them again as a side dish for breakfast with eggs and toast. I had a problem with mine breaking in the frying pan when I turned them. Maybe another egg would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States