Ham Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I used less ham and more broccoli. I used purple onion and cheddar cheese. I also used reduced-fat crescent rolls. I shaped it into a ring. It was very good. I liked it more than a chicken one I had that included mayo in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was excellant. I made some changes based on the remarks above. I added an extra half cup broccoli. I also used 3/4 a tbsp of yellow mustard and 1/4 tbsp of dijon mustard and 4 oz of sour cream. I sauteed the onions in butter until soft and the broccoli I steamed for about three mins. I prepared the filling early in the day and put in the refrigerator until dinner time. I then took the filling and put into waxpaper rolled to a tight roll the size of the filling. Then I did an eggwash on the pastry and it turned out great. I will definately do this again and will also try with different veggies and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wonderful after adjusting to my taste. Try using mushrooms, swiss and ham as filling. Saute fresh mushrooms with onion in butter prior. I also brushed top with butter (or eggwash) and sprinkled poppy seeds on top mid way through baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Great recipe for leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
We liked this a lot, I have made it with broccoli and also with frozen asparagus. Its very helpful to precook the veges in microwave before putting into the braid. I made these as an appetizer for a party, everyone raved, no leftovers. Many copies of the recipe were requested. Use your imagination for other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
i'm giving it this many stars ONLY because of the alterations i made. like other said, i cooked the onions and brocolli a bit before putting it in the cresent roll dough. instead of 2 tablespoons of mustard i put 1 tablespoon and 1/2 cup sour cream. the filling turned out moist and creamy and delicious! and i brushed a little butter on the top of the cresent dough(which was reduced fat) before putting it in the oven. i LOVED how it turned out and would definitely make it my way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurlingturtles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Good, easy, and impressive-looking. Only downside is onions were not cooked all the way through. Next time I'll saute them first as other reviewers have suggested. Here's my changes: I don't like mustard, so I used 2 tbsp Miracle Whip and 4 tbsp cottage cheese. It stuck together nicely without being too runny. Also substituted cheddar cheese since I didn't have swiss on hand. For herbs, I used 6 big leaves of fresh cilantro and a little chopped basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
This recipe is EXCELLENT! My family really enjoyed it. A girl friend of mine makes this for parties as an appetizer, everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very filling. The directions weren't very clear as I used a large cookie sheet & had left over dough. (didn't know if I should double up the dough or not) Also the braiding part was confusing, but figured it out later. (I was used to having long stripes when braiding not short ones) I accidently bought smoked swiss with cheddar cheese & it was excellent, but next time I'd use only 1/2 what it calls for since the smoke cheddar taste is strong. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
EXCELLENT AND VERY EASY. THIS WAS A BIG HIT AT MY LAST 2 TAILGATES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States