Ham Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I used less ham and more broccoli. I used purple onion and cheddar cheese. I also used reduced-fat crescent rolls. I shaped it into a ring. It was very good. I liked it more than a chicken one I had that included mayo in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
This recipe is EXCELLENT! My family really enjoyed it. A girl friend of mine makes this for parties as an appetizer, everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Great recipe for leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I've had better ham braids. The onion should be pre-cooked a little, because the oven time just isn't enough to cook them. It was also a bit dry with only the dijon mustard as a sauce. Looked more beautiful than it tasted. I'll keep searching for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
We liked this a lot, I have made it with broccoli and also with frozen asparagus. Its very helpful to precook the veges in microwave before putting into the braid. I made these as an appetizer for a party, everyone raved, no leftovers. Many copies of the recipe were requested. Use your imagination for other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very filling. The directions weren't very clear as I used a large cookie sheet & had left over dough. (didn't know if I should double up the dough or not) Also the braiding part was confusing, but figured it out later. (I was used to having long stripes when braiding not short ones) I accidently bought smoked swiss with cheddar cheese & it was excellent, but next time I'd use only 1/2 what it calls for since the smoke cheddar taste is strong. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Great..and filling...was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Great, but hard to get together. It may be easier to set the mixture in fridge for 30 minutes and then roll in wax paper to give it a more firm shape before placing it on dough for braiding. Also, the mustard was a bit strong - I would use less next time - 1 TB Dijon Mustard, 1 TB Mayo - to keep the consistency without being so pungent. It was hard to taste the other flavors over the mustard. I will definitley make again - just tweaked a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Good, easy, and impressive-looking. Only downside is onions were not cooked all the way through. Next time I'll saute them first as other reviewers have suggested. Here's my changes: I don't like mustard, so I used 2 tbsp Miracle Whip and 4 tbsp cottage cheese. It stuck together nicely without being too runny. Also substituted cheddar cheese since I didn't have swiss on hand. For herbs, I used 6 big leaves of fresh cilantro and a little chopped basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was an eye-catching, appetite-inspiring dish ... until I tasted it. The more I ate, the worse it got. Then, I realized what was wrong: the mustard. Though I usually like a little mustard with ham, in this recipe it was over-powering and gave the ham/broccoli/bread a sharp sour taste. I'll make something similar, based on this recipe, because I think that giving it a chance without the mustard (maybe with a little sour cream ?)will result in a tasty, attractive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States