Ham Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I've been using this recipe to take care of leftover ham for years. I did change things up a little when I made it last night. I sauteed the onion for a few minutes before adding, added the juice from half of a lemon, and used Dijonaise instead of the dijon mustard. The Dijonaise is creamier and took the bite out of the regular mustard. Very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I made it exactly as written. I didn't think the mustard flavor was too much like some reviewers said, in fact, I thought it could use more of a kick. I can see how adding some sour cream would help a bit. Also, I think its totally unnecessary to cook the onion or broccoli ahead of time unless you really want to mask their taste. I just finely chopped them both and they were fine. One last thing, I had trouble making one braid that would fit nicely on a cookie sheet so I just made two, this might help those who had raw dough on the inside and burning on the outside. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe was good and the flavors went well together. I used 1 TBS of mustard and 1/4 cup of sour cream. I wish I would have added more broccoli. I did saute the onions and steamed the broccoli. I put the ham in my food processor and rough chopped it - I think next time I will take the extra time and chop the ham with a knife - it kind of had the texture of ham salad. Overall it was a tasty way to use leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I used Chicken and Italian Blend 3 cheeses. Easy, good and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was very good and makes a pretty presentation. I used cheddar (had it on hand) and added sour cream (per several reviewers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
For me, this recipe was just okay. I steamed the broccoli prior to using it in the recipe. I also used cheddar because that's what we had on hand. It wasn't horrible or anything, just not the home run I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Ummmm. Very good and easy, too. I used more ham, probably 2-1/2 cups and I had to use cheddar instead of swiss. Will surely make this again with leftover ham. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe and it's easy to adapt to what you have on hand. I followed the suggestion from other reviewers and steamed the broccoli before. I also substituted cheddar cheese. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe, and it was pretty easy and very different from anything I usually make. I made just a couple of changes: only used 1 TBL of mustard, since our ham was leftover from Easter and already had some mustard in the glaze. I thought there was plenty of mustard taste with just the one TBL. Also used colby-jack cheese instead of swiss - personal preference. And added about 1/4 to 1/3 cup of sour cream to the mixture. I chopped the broccoli up into very small pieces and didn't see any reason to cook it ahead of time, but next time I would saute the onions in a little butter to soften them - I didn't like their crunch. (I used about 3/4 cup of finely chopped onion.) Also, some of the bread didn't bake completely while the rest turned golden brown. I took it out of the oven because I didn't want it to burn. But next time I'll have to see if I can get it to cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I did what some of the previous reviews suggested and only used 1 tbsp. dijon, aside from that followed the recipe. It was good, my husband loved it! To me it tasted just like quiche without the egg, not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States