Ham Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
i'm giving it this many stars ONLY because of the alterations i made. like other said, i cooked the onions and brocolli a bit before putting it in the cresent roll dough. instead of 2 tablespoons of mustard i put 1 tablespoon and 1/2 cup sour cream. the filling turned out moist and creamy and delicious! and i brushed a little butter on the top of the cresent dough(which was reduced fat) before putting it in the oven. i LOVED how it turned out and would definitely make it my way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurlingturtles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was good but after reading previous reviews..made many alterations. I opted to use the pizza crust and only one, used about a cup and a half of ham and just eyed the brocoli,cheese, and mayo.Heated the mixture in microwave for about 3-5 min. stirring. Next time I would make even less filling (serving two people) and possibly try using velveeta the shredded cheese is much too greasy and made for soggy left-overs..Also I sprinkled the crust with Mrs.Dash seasoning mix after cutting strips which really boosted the flavor..Other than that very yummy..Good with chicken too!! And it really does look beautiful when golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was excellant. I made some changes based on the remarks above. I added an extra half cup broccoli. I also used 3/4 a tbsp of yellow mustard and 1/4 tbsp of dijon mustard and 4 oz of sour cream. I sauteed the onions in butter until soft and the broccoli I steamed for about three mins. I prepared the filling early in the day and put in the refrigerator until dinner time. I then took the filling and put into waxpaper rolled to a tight roll the size of the filling. Then I did an eggwash on the pastry and it turned out great. I will definately do this again and will also try with different veggies and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I used less ham and more broccoli. I used purple onion and cheddar cheese. I also used reduced-fat crescent rolls. I shaped it into a ring. It was very good. I liked it more than a chicken one I had that included mayo in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I have made this recipe through Pampered Chef quite a few times and its one of our favorites. I don't see the need to cook brocolli or onion before hand because if they are fine enough, there is no need. I also tend to use a montery jack mixture for the cheese insted of swiss. I highly recommend this recipe and will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gum Spring, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Good recipe that used up the rest of our leftover Easter ham. But I wouldn't rush to make it again soon. As other reveiwers mentioned, maybe it was the mustard that overpowered the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I've had better ham braids. The onion should be pre-cooked a little, because the oven time just isn't enough to cook them. It was also a bit dry with only the dijon mustard as a sauce. Looked more beautiful than it tasted. I'll keep searching for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
This recipe is EXCELLENT! My family really enjoyed it. A girl friend of mine makes this for parties as an appetizer, everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
We liked this a lot, I have made it with broccoli and also with frozen asparagus. Its very helpful to precook the veges in microwave before putting into the braid. I made these as an appetizer for a party, everyone raved, no leftovers. Many copies of the recipe were requested. Use your imagination for other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very filling. The directions weren't very clear as I used a large cookie sheet & had left over dough. (didn't know if I should double up the dough or not) Also the braiding part was confusing, but figured it out later. (I was used to having long stripes when braiding not short ones) I accidently bought smoked swiss with cheddar cheese & it was excellent, but next time I'd use only 1/2 what it calls for since the smoke cheddar taste is strong. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States