Ham Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is very good! I cooked the onion, broccoli and ham together along with one minced clove of garlic. I also added about 1/4 cup of sour cream and a dollop of mayonnaise to the dijon. In addition to swiss, I added sharp cheddar cheese--about a 50/50 blend. I also only used 1 crescent roll instead of two and it turned out to be the perfect size for just us two. Very tasty!! A keeper! Update: I made this again last night and used 2 Pillsbury Crescent Seamless Dough Sheets and it was perfect! I liked it the first time I made it, but loved it the second time. I am going to experiment using chicken instead of ham. Also, if you think about it--it is technically the same thing as a stromboli, so you could make it with pizza fillings. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was absolutely delectable! The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 was because I changed up the original recipe to some of those suggested. I used 1/2 c. sour cream and nearly doubled the broccoli. (We're fans of broccoli!) I used an egg wash and the crust came out beautiful! Might also be good with cheddar. Very filling meal as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This might become my new FAVORITE comfort food!!!! I made a few tweaks, but this recipe could be SO versatile, you'll find yourself trying new combos on this pocket of goodness! Instead on a long loaf, I made 2 smaller loafs, each stuffed. Perfect entree size! Great for entertaining! I also used sour cream and some yellow mustard in mine, as other reviewers suggested, and pre-sauteed my onions. I did not need any egg wash for the top. It was golden brown and crisp and perfect. I did have to bake the smaller guys for about 5 more minutes than recommended. They were delicious and creamy and homemade tasting last night, and I brought the leftovers to work today- and they taste GREAT microwaved today too! I can't wait to make more of these. They would be good with turkey & cheddar, taco fixings, chicken peas and rice, you name it! THANK YOU Horton for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCoorishii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
My family loved my version. Its quick and easy. Cook the broccoli with onions til tender. Drain, rinse with cold water. Lay out crescent dough as specified. Layer with sliced ham, sliced cheese (I used pepper jack and swiss) then sprinkle with grated cheddar. Mix broccoli and onions with dijon mustard and 1/4 c. mayo then spread ontop of cheese. Braid dough over inside stuff and bake until golden brown...makes enough for atleast 6 people. And funny thing, everyone says that they switched the mayo with something else, but there is no mayo or sour cream in this recipe. :) STILL GREAT THOUGH! Everyone has their own take on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Blaylock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
We loved this recipe. It was super easy to make and tasted delicious. A few times: Cook the broccoli maybe halfway before putting it in this recipe, as it was still kind of crunchy. Also, maybe saute the onions first instead of putting them in raw. Otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
We really like this recipe, however, every time I make it I am having to cook it a lot longer to have the crust be done completely. Tonight I cooked it for 25 min at 350..turned it up to 375 and cooked another 10 and there were parts that were still raw! Ugh...so frustrating...but not the recipes fault! :) I add the sour cream and leave out the mustard and let everyone dip it in mustard. I also use cheddar cheese...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made a few changes to the original and it wasn't too bad. There was a flavor in there that both my boyfriend and I weren't too crazy about - but that could have been due to my alterations (using TS Onion Onion instead of an actual chopped onion because I didn't have one, and adding a tbsp of garlic powder, and used cheddar cheese instead of swiss because I dont' care for swiss). Next time I will try this with no garlic and probably leave out the onion as well and try using provolone cheese. Overall good recipe just need to tweak it to my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was great, only one tip..make sure your dough is chilled, I left mine out while I was prepping everything, and it was very difficult to work with. I didn't get the braid so much as another flat cover...but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Delicious. The broccoli is a little crunchy at the end, so it helps to steam it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Not our fav because the flavor was a little strong. I think it was all the onion and mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States