Ham Breakfast Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
My aunt made this for brunch a few weeks ago and I've been looking for the recipe ever since. It was delicious! She substituted crispy bacon for the ham (and then sprinkled some more on top right before it came out of the oven--yum!) and added sliced green onions and orange bell pepper to the egg mixture. SO good! I also have a simialr recipe from my favorite cooking magazine that calls for thawed puff pastry dough that's been rolled out a bit, instead of crescent rolls. I find it's easier to work with (less sticky), and it bakes up crispy and flaky. It's worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I have been making this for about year. I make it about once a week. Never used cream cheese though. Have used bacon, sausage, turkey, swiss cheese, mexican cheese mix all as substitutes. Pillsbury also came out with the crescent roll as a sheet instead of perforated. Kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is good but it's copied from other sites all over the net. and comes from Pillsbury originally. Ive been making it with variations for over 40 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Love cresent rolls for breakfast stuff, but thinking it would be easier to put one roll in a pie pan, attatch second batch of cresents broad side down, fill, then bring pointed ends over filling and bake. Love the idea, but guess it wouldn't be called a braid then, huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and it turned out fantastic!! Will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
So as an oops, my sleepy husband didn't read the rest of the recipe after I laid out the crescent rolls and ham and pre-blended the eggs, milk and creamcheese. Instead, he didn't cook the eggs, and poured them all over the bottom layer. I realized what had happened and freaked out ever so slightly. But to no avail, I dumped my cheese on top and cooked it for a few more minutes and it turned out delicious! I then wanted to try the recipe the right way a couple of weeks later, and truthfully, the other accidental way, was so much tastier! The crescent was more of a souffle, the eggs were rich and fluffy and cheese- well melted cheese need not be commented on for obvious reasons. Next time I will chop up the ham, mix it with the eggs and cover a 9x13 baking dish with the crescent rolls and do the accident again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
We both enjoyed this. I wasn't able to get all my eggs on the dough, though. I probably could've gotten away with only 6 eggs. I used part of a ham steak so I chopped the ham instead of slicing. No problems! This is a sort of a bland recipe but we don't like hot or spicy foods. This was just perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I use extra ham and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I gave it 5 stars as my family gave this dish rave reviews. 9 YO stepson LOVED it and requested we have it again soon with bacon (his favorite). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
added some green onion to the egg mixture and this was awesome! I couldn't stop eating it ! My husband even asked if I would make one for him to take to the guys at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States