Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is soooo GOOD! Definitely hits the "soup" spot! I din't use the chicken cubes. I added celery and garlic both fresh. And I seasoned it with "salad supreme" seasoning, found at publix. Absolutely delicious! And I'm not sure if this made a difference, but I used the ham bone from a ham covered in spicy honey glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliMiranda89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made the soup according to the recipe except that I used grandulated bouillon instead of cubes, 1 teaspoon = 1 cube. It was so salty we couldn't eat it. I removed about 3 cups of broth from the soup and replaced them with 3 cups of water and it was edible but still a bit salty. If I made this again, I would use just half of the bouillon, then taste, and then add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't have a ham bone, but I have tons of leftover ham. So, I threw in a huge chunk (had to be at least 1 lb). I used black beans because I like them better and was out of kidney beans anyway. My 7yo said this soup is amazing...keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
DELICIOUS! Perfect meal when the ham is almost gone. My toddler who rarely eats dinner was asking for fourths, and my husband was getting concerned there wouldn't be enough for leftovers! I didn't do bell peppers (I don't like them) and instead added carrots and celery. I used preseasoned tomatoes (it had parsley, oregano and a few other spices already in it, I believe it was the 'O' Organics brand from Safeway). It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
It was good. Good flavor and a good way to use up the bone. Nothing to get too excited about, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The ham bone put 2 large bones and several smaller bones in the soup, along with gristle and fat. It was tedious getting this all out and I was afraid someone would discover a missed piece of bone/gristle/fat. The taste was good, however. My ham was a spiral cut, high end ham. I must of used a different kind of ham than everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Warm, hearty, and delicious. Will make again next time I have a ham bone.. nothing quite like the flavor. I made this in the crock pot while I was at work (10 hours), but this apparently gets better the longer it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Pretty good. Thought it needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Great recipe ... would not change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States