Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made one significant change. Left out the beans and potatoes and put in 2 cups of cubed butternut squash. Cooked for 15 hours and is had the most major balance of sweet and savory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Followed everyone's advice. It was surprisingly Good. The longer I cooked it in the crockpot the better it taste. Added one small cup of Knorr's concentrated chicken stock to boost the flavor. Also added celery. carrots and garlic per the other reviews. To thicken the soup I added 3 tablespoons of cornstarch dissolved in warm water. It's a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
OMG -- this soup is great! My friends say it is the best also. I didn't have tomatoes, so I used mild bottles salsa, and used a honey baked ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My family enjoyed this soup! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Saved the stock from cooking the ham... sweet glaze and all... put it in the fridge overnight skimmed the fat off the top and then froze in a baggy. Threw the left over hambone with meat still attached in a separate baggie and when I was ready to make this recipe I threw it all in the crockpot to thaw and cook. Then threw in all the ingredients with less water and bouillon to make up for adding the stock... let everything cook for suggested time then took out the hambone with the meat still on it then remove meat, cut up and put it back in the pot. I especially loved the cinnamon from the ham glaze. Great for a cold day. Hubby and children loved it. Left overs were awesome days later. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
SO YUMMY! I was afraid that the four cups of water wouldn't be enough, but with the liquid from the beans and tomatoes, it was fine. I only used about half the tomatoes and no peppers, but added about two cups of diced ham, bay leaf, and garlic powder. Perfect way to use up a ham bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Schneider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I made this soup in my slow cooker, and after 6 hours the potatoes and other vegetables were still crunchy. I took the soup out of the cooker and put it in a soup pot on the stove and simmered it on medium high to soften. After ten minutes soup was finally ready to eat. The soup was very good but next time, it will be done on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cutestfox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Espanola, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Great Basic Recipe. You can add anything to this and it turns out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My husband had made up his mind to not like this dish and it didn't look all that appetizing to me either but I had a lot of ham left over from Christmas so I had to do SOMETHING with it. The only thing I added was some brown rice because I added too much liquid. This soup was superb! I put it in individual containers to freeze because I knew it wouldnt all get eaten but those containers never made it to the freezer because my husband kept chowing down on the soup. This recipe is now a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this soup 5 months ago and for Easter I made an extra ham just for the bone to make this again. I did change it a bit. Used stewed tomatoes, added a can of chipotle pinto beans and then when it was all done I added diced cabbage into it. The cabbage made a big difference. This time I am going to add in baby carrots. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States