Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This was fabulous! The flavor was so good and I followed the recipe 90%. I used a huge frozen ham bone and added a can of white northern beans and a can of pinto beans. Otherwise, followed the recipe using chicken broth instead of water and cubes. I put it on high for 1 hour then on low for about 10 hours. Absolutely delicious, no extra seasoning needed for us. It makes A LOT, so be prepared for company or big freezer space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Yummy! Changed a few things: Sweet potatoes instead of regular. Red bell pepper instead of green. Used "italian seasoned canned tomatoes" instead of regular. Also used low sodium chicken broth. Everyone loved it. Could not believe how much flavor it had despite have so few spices/herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I got a late start & didn't have time to do in the crockpot. Worked fine on the stove. I used a ham hock which is what I had on hand. I meant to use chicken broth as reviews said but forgot to buy it so I used the water & chicken bouillon cubes. I added thin sliced carrots, celery, garlic 2 bay leaves & a couple shakes of red pepper flakes + 2 tsp. of sugar as suggested by other reviews. I sauted the onion, carrots, celery & garlic a little in the pot with the canned tomatoes then added all but the potatoes and brought to a boil. I used 2 cups of diced ham I had in the freezer to use up. I simmered it for 1 hour then added the cubed potatoes and brought to a boil again. Since it had cooked down some I added a can of veggie broth I had in the cabinet & gently boiled for 1/2 hour then turned off & let sit till dinner time. Hubby loved it & it was SO easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made the recipe with 2 cans of Great Northern Beans and no green pepper. I haven't had diced tomatos in a bean soup before, but it really was a great tasting soup. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Followed the recipe except may have added an extra cup or so of Chicken broth so I did not add any of the water. Even though I had a big meaty ham bone and ham to add, the overall soup was kind of bland. Not a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Fantastic soup. I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water and skipped the chicken bouillon. I substituted chopped celery for the bell pepper. I also added some chopped carrot. I cooked at least 9-10 hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Really good and filling. Guys loved it, Great meat and potato dish. The bell peppers add a Latin kick! I would like suggestions to lighten the saltiness if any. Overall it's a really good meal easy to prepare and smells great cooking in the crock pot! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Great recipe! My family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Omg. I slow cooked this recipe with a left over bone in ham I bought and made the night before. I make alot of soups, and I mean ALOT... but every one of my kids said this was their absolute favorite of any soup I've ever made. Only changes I made was instead of cubing up my potatoes, I just added the leftover mashed potatoes I had from the ham dinner. It gave it a really nice texture. And I added some small pasta shells at the end to absorb some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I didn't like the flavor the green pepper added. To each their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States