Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Followed the recipe except may have added an extra cup or so of Chicken broth so I did not add any of the water. Even though I had a big meaty ham bone and ham to add, the overall soup was kind of bland. Not a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Fantastic soup. I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water and skipped the chicken bouillon. I substituted chopped celery for the bell pepper. I also added some chopped carrot. I cooked at least 9-10 hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Really good and filling. Guys loved it, Great meat and potato dish. The bell peppers add a Latin kick! I would like suggestions to lighten the saltiness if any. Overall it's a really good meal easy to prepare and smells great cooking in the crock pot! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Great recipe! My family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Omg. I slow cooked this recipe with a left over bone in ham I bought and made the night before. I make alot of soups, and I mean ALOT... but every one of my kids said this was their absolute favorite of any soup I've ever made. Only changes I made was instead of cubing up my potatoes, I just added the leftover mashed potatoes I had from the ham dinner. It gave it a really nice texture. And I added some small pasta shells at the end to absorb some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I didn't like the flavor the green pepper added. To each their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
As everyone else does...I improvised. I call this the "left over soup". I used my ham bone, onion, carrot, celery, salt, pepper, 2 cans of diced tomatoes (one Italian style) kidney beans, peas...you can use what ever you have! Remember to not season your vegetables during the week...only on your plate. Then at the end of the week, use them up for soup! My cost on this 10 cup meal: $4.00 and a left over ham bone.....feeds 6 easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My dear husband loves soups, chowders and stews! He absolutely loves them and is quite the connoisseur! I made this soup today for the very first time (exactly as shown) and he could hardly stop raving and singing its praises long enough to eat it! :) Can't remember the last time I've had that many compliments on a meal!!! Three thumbs up and 5 big stars! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanborn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I often buy a ham just so I can make this soup later (after eating all that yummy ham first, of course)! This is my go-to recipe, though I just use it as a base and adjust depending on what veggies I have and what sounds good at the moment. I've never made a bad pot of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I didn't like the ham/chicken mix. Just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States