Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I used a box of Chicken stock and some cannelloni beans instead because that's what I had. This ended up being delicious. I'm now looking forward to getting more ham bones in the future so I can do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I added carrots and onions to the recipe. used about 10 cups of chicken stock. skipped the potatoes I let it cook overnight. When I got up I added 2 cups of raw noodle. Turned out nice and flavorful and pretty thick. great way to use up the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
We love this recipe! Finally a good soup to make from a ham bone. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Very good! Mine came out a little onion-y, but I didn't have all the veg in it. I used rice instead of potatoes, and the left overs were great! More stew-like and it had a smokey taste to it. I think I liked the left overs better! : ) Def will be making this again next time we buy a ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
My husband baked a ham that had a bone in it and asked me if I wanted the ham bone to use to make soup. I searched the internet and decided to use this recipe; since I had most of the ingredients. I did not have a green bell pepper so I omitted it. I added carrots, celery and garlic. This is currently in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious meal. My husband couldn't get enough. I did substitute a can of chili beans instead of kidney. My husband isn't much for soups but I was told I have to fix this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I've tried making other hambone soups, but this one is the best by far! The only things I did differently is I used homemade chicken stock instead of bouillon in water. And cooked lima beans instead of kidney. And I left out the green pepper because I didn't have any. I also added a little bit of diced ham I had left over. I cooked it on my stovetop and it turned out lovely. Sauteed the onions in oil first, then added the rest of the ingredients, plus a little salt, and simmered them for about 45 minutes. Great ham flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This was fabulous! The flavor was so good and I followed the recipe 90%. I used a huge frozen ham bone and added a can of white northern beans and a can of pinto beans. Otherwise, followed the recipe using chicken broth instead of water and cubes. I put it on high for 1 hour then on low for about 10 hours. Absolutely delicious, no extra seasoning needed for us. It makes A LOT, so be prepared for company or big freezer space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Shivers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Yummy! Changed a few things: Sweet potatoes instead of regular. Red bell pepper instead of green. Used "italian seasoned canned tomatoes" instead of regular. Also used low sodium chicken broth. Everyone loved it. Could not believe how much flavor it had despite have so few spices/herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I got a late start & didn't have time to do in the crockpot. Worked fine on the stove. I used a ham hock which is what I had on hand. I meant to use chicken broth as reviews said but forgot to buy it so I used the water & chicken bouillon cubes. I added thin sliced carrots, celery, garlic 2 bay leaves & a couple shakes of red pepper flakes + 2 tsp. of sugar as suggested by other reviews. I sauted the onion, carrots, celery & garlic a little in the pot with the canned tomatoes then added all but the potatoes and brought to a boil. I used 2 cups of diced ham I had in the freezer to use up. I simmered it for 1 hour then added the cubed potatoes and brought to a boil again. Since it had cooked down some I added a can of veggie broth I had in the cabinet & gently boiled for 1/2 hour then turned off & let sit till dinner time. Hubby loved it & it was SO easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States