Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Good recipe. I agree with other reviewers when it comes to adding different veggies. I added celery, and a partial can of corn that needed to be used up. I recommend removing the bone after cooking, and allowing the soup to cool so that you can skim off some of the fat. My ham bone must have been pretty fatty, because I was able to remove 1/2 cup of fat after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGLVR

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Fantastic! what more can I say. My 6 and 11 year old grandchildren are not soup eaters. When I told them this was all I made they tried it, said nothing while they pouted, BUT ASKED for SECONDS I think that says it all. I used only chicken stock instead of water added sweet potatoes and celery along with everything else. Deboned the soup once it was done and served with French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
What a great recipe for after the holidays! I used a can of Rotelle with green chilies rather than the can of tomatoes and it added a little spice. I think you could double up on the kidney beans as well. At any rate, a great soup recipe that I will be using again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Desiree Camarena
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This soup was so delicious and simple to make. I almost gave it four stars because it seemed like one onion was so much that it seemed to take over the pot and after the soup was done I took out half the onion and threw it away so that it wouldn't look like onion soup. I also changed it up a bit by adding two more cans of beans, pinto & white, added ham, and more broth. Wonderful recipe to go off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Camarena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was a great alternative to making lentil soup which is what I always made with the left over ham and bone. Great flavor too! I froze the left overs in small portions to have later and it tasted just as yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boughgirl07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is a great way to use up the Thanksgiving ham bone! I made a low sodium version by cutting back on the chicken bouillon (I used Better Than Bouillon paste), and adding frozen blanched tomatoes(skinned)from my garden. I also added a carrot and some diced celery. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Osborne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I rated it highly for easy preparation and delicious GF soup. I put in drained can of black-eyed peas because I didn't have kidney beans and threw in fresh basil chiffonade and fresh oregano because I grow these. Also added about a tsp garlic salt. I used 1 qt plus one can chicken stock and not the water and bouillon. This is a good fit for this first chilly day in the Detroit area. Thank you, this is one of the best uses for a ham bone I have run across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is one of my favorites. Great on cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Ok, I feel like I figured this thing out. First, the cook time totally varies. If you don't cook it long enough, it is going to be way to watery and not as flavorful at all. Although 5-6 hours was plenty for others, I doubled the recipe and after 8 hrs on high in the crock pot it was still not cooked all the way. A little time on the stove -brought to a boil and then simmered and it thickened WAY up - made it go from 2 stars to 4+ stars. I also think how salty your ham is has a lot to do with the outcome. If you find (only after you cook it ALL the way) that it is not flavorful enough, just add some salt! I added salt before it was done all the way and I probably over did it, but I still got rave reviews. I totally understand the low ratings as well as the high ratings. Before I simmered it on the stove, I was really disappointed in this soup. Afterwards... DELISH. Gave 4 stars because it was so finicky with the cook time, but end result was 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I didn't have a ham bone but I had a bunch of left over ham frozen from Christmas. Cooked in the slow cooker the ham was so tender! This was easy and turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States