Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a great soup. We added some spices (to taste) as we felt it needed an 'earthy" element and was way too sweet from our ham bone. We added some tyme, red pepper, oregano, black pepper, 1/4 can peeled tomato, marjorum and parsley. We used a bone from a honey glazed ham and when i first tasted it, it was way too sweet so that is why I added the "earthy" spices. That evened it out and was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This soup has a very good flavor. I used the suggestions and used diced tomatoes with green peppers and chicken broth. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This soup was perfect! The flavor was subtle, but yummy. I've tried other ham soup recipes and they are too heavy for my taste. The only problem was that I wished it made more! Had one batch for dinner and the other is in the freezer. We only have a ham a few times a year, but this recipe will make me want it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very good soup. I made it with italian flavored tomatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Wonderful--Economical! Will make it EVERYTIME I have a ham bone (or will at least freeze the bone to make it at a later date--seriously, it was soooo rich and good!) Used a natural, nitrate/nitrite free ham from Trader Joe's! The changes I made: used a can of pinto beans and a can of black beans, omitted potatoes because we love to eat chunky soups over brown rice, used a quart of my tomato puree instead of the canned stuff and used homemade chicken broth instead of bouillion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was very good. The ham-chix broth-tomato flavor was awesome. I did add 2 cups more water as the 6 bouillon cubes made it quite strong. Next time i will use 4 or 5 cubes. I might add a can of another kind of bean and try thickening the broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I just finished making and eating this soup, and man was it tasty! If you are not a 9 bean soup person like myself, I would reccomend this recipe. My husband loved it too. The only thing I did different was add carrots, and instead of cutting up green pepper I bought canned tomatoes with green pepper already in it. I also put garlic powder and fresh ground pepper in it. It absolutely does not need additional salt, the ham provided just the right amount to the broth. We will now make this soup with every ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This soup was excellent!! Instead of boullion and water I used 3 reg cans low sodium chicken broth and added a couple bay leaves and garlic as suggested in other reviews. My husband wanted more beans, so we will do an additional can next time or even try adding some lentils. Very yummy, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
very EASY and tasty soup. I was on the fence about this one after reading the reviews but it's great as is and with additions. Today I threw it together quickly and left w/o even stirring it. I added carrots, didn't have enough onion and used honey baked ham bone plus leftover ham. It's perfectly sweet and a perfect winter soup. I might add cheese to one bowl and try to make it creamy and thick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I was shocked that I actually really enjoyed this soup. My last attempt with a ham bone was not so good... so this was pleasantly surprising. Used both sweet potatoes and regular. Did not add green peppers. Also added kailbasa sausage. The fat from the ham floats to the top of the soup if you want to strain it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States