Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was a very tasty way to use up a ham bone. I used carrots instead of green peppers and the spicy tomatoes with green chilies. I served it with crusty bread. It surprised me how flavorful it was without adding any spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wonderful soup! I did change it a bit as I didn't have the green pepper or beans. I added more Italian style tomatoes and about 1 1/2t of fresh ground black pepper. Now, what do I do with the ham that I bought just to get the bone??!! LOL. I wish I could buy just the ham bone here! Aloha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
WOW! This is Great! I only omitted the green peppers. No seasoning added which was just amazing to me. Even my picky husband loved it! I'll make this from now on with my ham bone. It's way better than split pea soup. Thank you so much for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
For church - make 8 servings (not 12)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I just signed up to be a member or else I would of rated this before. I love this soup and have made it for about 5yrs. I save my hambone fron each holiday and use it in this recipe. The only subtitutions that I make is I add cabbage at the end of cooking and let it get nice and soft! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cookMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
nice quick way to use a ham bone, but did not have much flavor. the next time I made this I put lots of garlic and ham pieces. I will make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goofy_hobbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I liked this soup very much. Next time I'll add a little of the ham as well, but doesn't really need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shefhs45

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made this soup this weekend! It is so good! I am having it for lunch right now and just had to leave a review! I added some oregano and basil. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!! My Family loved this soup. A Wonderful way to use leftover ham up. I 'm so glad I found this recipe. Thanks, for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURASC
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was a really, really nice soup. The only thing I did different was use carrots instead of peppers and I added about 1/3 cup rice during the last hour of cooking. I also cooked it on Low right from the start....at total of about 10 hours. Next time I'll add 5 bouillon cubes instead of 6. The house smelled amazing and everyone gobbled up the soup. Delicious! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States