Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!! My Family loved this soup. A Wonderful way to use leftover ham up. I 'm so glad I found this recipe. Thanks, for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURASC
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was a really, really nice soup. The only thing I did different was use carrots instead of peppers and I added about 1/3 cup rice during the last hour of cooking. I also cooked it on Low right from the start....at total of about 10 hours. Next time I'll add 5 bouillon cubes instead of 6. The house smelled amazing and everyone gobbled up the soup. Delicious! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Let it cook all day on the stove in a dutch oven. GREAT! Used beef broth since I was out of chicken and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huxtacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Too Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very tasty soup- I omitted the kidney beans and green peppers. I added green beans, peas, carrotts, mushrooms, and then two hours before we ate I added some pasta noodles to it. I also added fresh parsley, and dried basil, thyme, sage, and pepper. Very good! The best compliment a Mom can get is seconds, thirds, and empty bowls:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I do not use a crock pot so just made it on the stove. I also added garlic and a bay leaf, carrots and celery. Next time may add even more veggies, such as corn and green beans. It really was delicious, a nice blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Festie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Our family is trying to go vegetarian but occassionaly I see an easy receipe and I can't resist. I sauted the onion in fresh garlic along with all the other veggies, potatoes, green beans, 3 carrots, and green pepper. I did not have kidney beans but I did have black eyes peas. Also threw in a bay leaf. This was really, really good except for the fact that the ham bone added more fat than we are used to. Next time I make this I am going to try and find a dry ham flavoring of some type to use instead of the greasy ham bone. I did try and spoon some of the grease off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was okay. I added the chicken broth instead of the bouillon.....I think maybe next time I'd omit, or add less tomato, and add carrots and maybe some split peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter and it was blan, the texture was not appealing. Nobody liked it. Sorry this was a bad one for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Loved, loved, loved this soup! I made a few changes...I used frozen mixed veggies (carrots, corn and green beans), a little celery, green and red pepper (because I had them), two bay leaves and very little onion. I had some leftover ham, also. During the last thirty minutes of cooking, I threw in some very small alphabet noodles. I thought that it come out wonderfully and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States