Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have to admit I was skeptical because the ingredients are so simple but this is truly an amazing soup. It took minutes to prep and was so yummy. Even my picky toddler ate it. Thanks for sharing - we will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Yummy! I though this was super good and really easy to make. Used the leftover ham bone from Christmas. Added 3 chopped carrots, a clove of garlic and a bay leaf as suggested. Ate with some whole wheat bread. The whole family enjoyed it. Thanks! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Wow, this was great. Used it as the inaugural recipe for my new seven quart enamel cast iron dutch oven my husband bought me for Cristmas. It seemed way too easy - no browning vegetables, just toss it all in a pot, but it worked. I used chicken broth instead of boullion, added a couple chopped carrots and a spoonful of chopped garlic and cooked it stovetop for about three hours. It was awesome. I used a honey baked hambone and was careful not to add the sugary crust or juice. Seasoning was perfect. Remove the bone at the end and shred the meat, returning meat to the pot. Remove any cunks of fat and discard. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I did not care for this recipe at all. I am not sure how to say this, but the first thing was the actual aroma/smell. It was very unappealing. My husband is very versatile and likes almost everything I cook. He did not like the flavor at all. Did we use the wrong type of ham bone? It was a publix brand ham that was excellent. I guess that I think something is wrong with me since I really couldn't stand this recipe. All the other reviews were just fantastic and I was really excited to make this one. Complete disappointment. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was a very tasty way to use up a ham bone. I used carrots instead of green peppers and the spicy tomatoes with green chilies. I served it with crusty bread. It surprised me how flavorful it was without adding any spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wonderful soup! I did change it a bit as I didn't have the green pepper or beans. I added more Italian style tomatoes and about 1 1/2t of fresh ground black pepper. Now, what do I do with the ham that I bought just to get the bone??!! LOL. I wish I could buy just the ham bone here! Aloha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
WOW! This is Great! I only omitted the green peppers. No seasoning added which was just amazing to me. Even my picky husband loved it! I'll make this from now on with my ham bone. It's way better than split pea soup. Thank you so much for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
For church - make 8 servings (not 12)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I just signed up to be a member or else I would of rated this before. I love this soup and have made it for about 5yrs. I save my hambone fron each holiday and use it in this recipe. The only subtitutions that I make is I add cabbage at the end of cooking and let it get nice and soft! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cookMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
nice quick way to use a ham bone, but did not have much flavor. the next time I made this I put lots of garlic and ham pieces. I will make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goofy_hobbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States