Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Yes, this soup is very good. Really nice on a cool day kinda soup. Very hammy, which I liked. Nice change from chicken and beef soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Sooo good! I would probably add a bay leaf and some thyme or sage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I was afraid the simplicity of this recipe would make it dull but on the contrary, it's fantastic! Doesn't need herbs and spices because of the wonderful smoky flavor from the ham. I left out the green pepper. Had to substitute beef boullion for chicken. This was really hearty. Got thicker and better after being in the frig a couple days. Didn't know if the beans were supposed to be drained first - I did not drain them - put entire can and liquids in slow cooker. The ham bone I used was from a spiral cut ham with just a little meat left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TracieT
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Wow! I can't believe I have thrown away so many ham bones! This is the best soup I've ever had! So much flavor! I made four minor changes 1- I used navy beans instead of kidney 2- I used the diced tom. with garlic and oregano 3- I used a red pepper instead of green 4- I added carrots - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
WOW! I made this as written, except doubled (I had a huge, meaty ham bone left over from Christmas) and simmered all day on the stove. I wasn't sure what to expect with the simple ingredients and lack of spices, but it was WONDERFUL! My husband and I had two huge bowls apiece and have decided this will be our traditional New Year's meal from now on. FANTASTIC!! don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
this is a great base for almost any variation of soup with ingredients you may have on hand. i used chicken stock instead of bouillon cubes and since i had saved ham drippings from my baked ham, i added that as well with extra water to taste. i also used garbanzo instead of kidney (what i had) and a bag of fresh spinach i had on hand. for seasoning, all it needed was ground pepper. i cooked everything in a pressure cooker for an hour except the potatoes, garbanzos, and spinach which i added not under pressure to watch for doneness of added ingredients. a delicious hearty soup that clearly does not resemble anything 'left over'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wonderful soup! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The taste was REALLY good. I had to omit the green peppers because I didn't have one on hand. I did add rosemary. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I felt it was a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
What a pleasant surprise this soup is! Good, humble food. Served with some bread, it makes a perfect meal on a chilly evening. I wanted to use the leftover bone from Christmas ham and found this recipe. I was skeptical upon reading it. I really thought it would turn out bland. On the contrary, it is full of flavor without any additional seasoning. The ham bone does all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have to admit I was skeptical because the ingredients are so simple but this is truly an amazing soup. It took minutes to prep and was so yummy. Even my picky toddler ate it. Thanks for sharing - we will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States