Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
For those who have burned out all the taste buds on very spicey recipies, this recipe is not for you....for those who want an excellent soup for those chilly fall and winter nights this is it. I doubled the recipe, and used one can of diced italian flavored tomatoes, and one can of the reg. type. I also added some chopped celery. The ham bone was quite meaty. This soup was so good I didn't even need to add any salt or pepper!! Jerri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Yummy!! Perfect for busy moms. Great way to stretch that left over ham. I added some carrots & potato in stead of just potato. The Tomato add a perfect flavor. I used reg canned chick broth, my ham & ham bone was a hillshire farm and those never seemed to be as salty to me. I also used garlic and bayleaf. No green pepper on hand but I am sure it would taste even better with green pepper. We had french bread with it. It was hit and I have 6 kids that loved it. Thank You!! Will be passed down to generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I used this recipe for a nice, meaty ham bone I had left over from a Hillshire Farms spiral ham. It was very easy and delicious. I only had a large sweet potato on hand so used that instead of the potatoes and it really added a wonderful flavor. Also added an extra can of beans (pinto), a couple of bay leaves, some garlic powder, and a touch of Golden Sherry toward the end. Wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMDEMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
AWESOME. I used a really meaty ham bone for this soup. I added chopped carrots, celery and a can of green peas in addition to everything else the recipe called for. After reading the reviews I opted for low sodium chicken bouillon. The soup was seasoned perfectly. I had to cook the soup longer because of my additions... overall I cooked it for about 8-9 hours on low. Absolutely fabulous! 12/09: I actually bought and baked a ham yesterday solely so that I could make this soup with the leftover ham bone today (although the ham was delicious, I was really craving this soup)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
OK, I gotta story. Anyone who is familiar with the show "Everybody Loves Raymond" can surely appreciate this because with the exception of my in-laws living 5 minutes away & not across the street.....they ARE Frank & Marie, and hubby & I are Ray & Debra. I'm not at all kidding, really. The in-laws called last night 4 TIMES, not leaving a message, and then came over to give me a.....yes a ham bone. Not only did I think the worst, as my husband is (again) in Monterey on business, but..it was just a hambone. Anyway, I was able to make the soup with it, and it turned out pretty good. I subbed green beans for the peppers, and if I make it again, I will add some sort of pasta. Nice & low cal. Thanks Charlene. If ever you get a chance to see the show...do, you'll get a peek into my life (HA) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This recipe was AWESOME! I didn't have a slow cooker, so I just put everything into a 12 quart soup pot and brought it to a boil. Then I reduced it to low and simmered for about 4 hours, stirring occasionally. The ham just fell off of the bone! I modified slightly, 4 boullion instead of 6, and 5 cups of water. I also added some diced leftover ham that was in the fridge. I sent this recipe to everyone. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This is one of the easiest soup recipes I have ever tried. The family loved it and I now have another wintry night soup. Very hearty and tasty. Would highly recommend to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
To those who referred to the salt content, that is going to happen since it's ham. I would suggest using chicken broth instead of bullion. However, I think if I decide to make this, I will be sure to use twice as much water as broth I use. I don't worry about it being watered down too much as there will be plenty of flavor from the broth and ham combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
My family really enjoyed this soup. I added cubed ham, used 4 c. of low-sodium chicken broth & added one cube of bouillon....it wasn't too salty. I had a bit of celery on hand so I threw that in & then I also added a 1/2 can of sliced carrots, I also added a couple of cloves of minced garlic, as well as two bay leaves. The soup was very hearty...more like a stew really. I served it w/ homemade bread & it was a wonderful filling meal for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Excellent soup. I used crushed tomatoes instead and omitted the peppers and beans. This was still a great tasting soup and perfect for that left over ham! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States