Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
For those who have burned out all the taste buds on very spicey recipies, this recipe is not for you....for those who want an excellent soup for those chilly fall and winter nights this is it. I doubled the recipe, and used one can of diced italian flavored tomatoes, and one can of the reg. type. I also added some chopped celery. The ham bone was quite meaty. This soup was so good I didn't even need to add any salt or pepper!! Jerri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This is one of the easiest soup recipes I have ever tried. The family loved it and I now have another wintry night soup. Very hearty and tasty. Would highly recommend to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Excellent soup. I used crushed tomatoes instead and omitted the peppers and beans. This was still a great tasting soup and perfect for that left over ham! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I used this recipe for a nice, meaty ham bone I had left over from a Hillshire Farms spiral ham. It was very easy and delicious. I only had a large sweet potato on hand so used that instead of the potatoes and it really added a wonderful flavor. Also added an extra can of beans (pinto), a couple of bay leaves, some garlic powder, and a touch of Golden Sherry toward the end. Wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMDEMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
OK, I gotta story. Anyone who is familiar with the show "Everybody Loves Raymond" can surely appreciate this because with the exception of my in-laws living 5 minutes away & not across the street.....they ARE Frank & Marie, and hubby & I are Ray & Debra. I'm not at all kidding, really. The in-laws called last night 4 TIMES, not leaving a message, and then came over to give me a.....yes a ham bone. Not only did I think the worst, as my husband is (again) in Monterey on business, but..it was just a hambone. Anyway, I was able to make the soup with it, and it turned out pretty good. I subbed green beans for the peppers, and if I make it again, I will add some sort of pasta. Nice & low cal. Thanks Charlene. If ever you get a chance to see the show...do, you'll get a peek into my life (HA) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I bought a pack of ham bones the other day and needed to do something with them and of course I came here. Didn't really care to much for the taste. I guess I'm not much of a ham person, but my company really enjoyed it. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This recipe was AWESOME! I didn't have a slow cooker, so I just put everything into a 12 quart soup pot and brought it to a boil. Then I reduced it to low and simmered for about 4 hours, stirring occasionally. The ham just fell off of the bone! I modified slightly, 4 boullion instead of 6, and 5 cups of water. I also added some diced leftover ham that was in the fridge. I sent this recipe to everyone. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This is a great soup! A wonderful change of pace and great use for ham bones. I used tomato sauce instead of chunks as my family prefers no pieces of tomato. Really good & easy! I've already made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I followed this recipe except I subsituted a can of pinto beans because I had them on hand. The soup turned out delicious but second day, was much too salty! I do not know what caused this, because I did not add any condiments to the original recipe. I can only blame it on using the six bullion cubes which I think may have contributed to the saltiness. I will try this recipe again, but may just used a can of low salt chicken broth instead of the cubes. If anyone else has had a problem with this, I would like to know their "cure"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Great soup my whole family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States