Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Great recipe! My family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Omg. I slow cooked this recipe with a left over bone in ham I bought and made the night before. I make alot of soups, and I mean ALOT... but every one of my kids said this was their absolute favorite of any soup I've ever made. Only changes I made was instead of cubing up my potatoes, I just added the leftover mashed potatoes I had from the ham dinner. It gave it a really nice texture. And I added some small pasta shells at the end to absorb some of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I didn't like the flavor the green pepper added. To each their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
As everyone else does...I improvised. I call this the "left over soup". I used my ham bone, onion, carrot, celery, salt, pepper, 2 cans of diced tomatoes (one Italian style) kidney beans, peas...you can use what ever you have! Remember to not season your vegetables during the week...only on your plate. Then at the end of the week, use them up for soup! My cost on this 10 cup meal: $4.00 and a left over ham bone.....feeds 6 easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My dear husband loves soups, chowders and stews! He absolutely loves them and is quite the connoisseur! I made this soup today for the very first time (exactly as shown) and he could hardly stop raving and singing its praises long enough to eat it! :) Can't remember the last time I've had that many compliments on a meal!!! Three thumbs up and 5 big stars! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanborn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I often buy a ham just so I can make this soup later (after eating all that yummy ham first, of course)! This is my go-to recipe, though I just use it as a base and adjust depending on what veggies I have and what sounds good at the moment. I've never made a bad pot of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I didn't like the ham/chicken mix. Just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was the best ham soup I ever made! I will agree with many and reduce the bullion in half as it was a bit too salty. I used 2 tablespoons of Better Than Bullion and would use one next time. I also added bay leaves and a splash of cooking sherry at the end along with a couple shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce. Also added carrots and had an onion roll to dunk in and mop up the good juice. If you want a serving quick do what I did...ladled a few cups of it into a sauce pan and simmered for an hour. This was my supper while the rest slow cooked the rest of the evening. Made a wonderful lunch! I want to make this a yearly tradition with the Christmas hambone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Awesome and easy recipe. Also tweaked mine with some carrot/celery and substitued a can of pinto beans for the kidney beans (scraping the bottom of the cupboard) - tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
No longer a skeptic this soup is great in spite of my worries of possible ingredient compatibilities.I cooked it for 8 1/2hours[the big ham bone was frozen]and made it as stated with the exception of a little cayenne pepper to taste and 2 bay leaves. I will not be throwing out the ham bone any longer---thanks for a great tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States