Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Loved it. I added celery and a bay leaf and it was delicious. I like the potatoes a little firmer so I boiled them and added just before serving. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love this recipe! It reminds me of mom's soup when I was a kid. The only thing I do different is add extra kidney beans, some green beans and some diced ham to add some more meat to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I've never cooked a spiral ham before, but there was so much meat on the bone I had to try to make something with it. This is a great recipe - very simple, using items easily on hand. I made a few minor modifications - added carrots and red bell pepper, reduced number of potatoes to one large one and added two cloves of minced garlic and a little crushed red pepper to spice it up. It ended up being kind of a soupy chili - really, really great for a cold wintry day. I wish they would change the picture on this one, though ... mine didn't look anything like that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Yes, this soup is very good. Really nice on a cool day kinda soup. Very hammy, which I liked. Nice change from chicken and beef soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Sooo good! I would probably add a bay leaf and some thyme or sage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I was afraid the simplicity of this recipe would make it dull but on the contrary, it's fantastic! Doesn't need herbs and spices because of the wonderful smoky flavor from the ham. I left out the green pepper. Had to substitute beef boullion for chicken. This was really hearty. Got thicker and better after being in the frig a couple days. Didn't know if the beans were supposed to be drained first - I did not drain them - put entire can and liquids in slow cooker. The ham bone I used was from a spiral cut ham with just a little meat left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TracieT
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Wow! I can't believe I have thrown away so many ham bones! This is the best soup I've ever had! So much flavor! I made four minor changes 1- I used navy beans instead of kidney 2- I used the diced tom. with garlic and oregano 3- I used a red pepper instead of green 4- I added carrots - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
WOW! I made this as written, except doubled (I had a huge, meaty ham bone left over from Christmas) and simmered all day on the stove. I wasn't sure what to expect with the simple ingredients and lack of spices, but it was WONDERFUL! My husband and I had two huge bowls apiece and have decided this will be our traditional New Year's meal from now on. FANTASTIC!! don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
this is a great base for almost any variation of soup with ingredients you may have on hand. i used chicken stock instead of bouillon cubes and since i had saved ham drippings from my baked ham, i added that as well with extra water to taste. i also used garbanzo instead of kidney (what i had) and a bag of fresh spinach i had on hand. for seasoning, all it needed was ground pepper. i cooked everything in a pressure cooker for an hour except the potatoes, garbanzos, and spinach which i added not under pressure to watch for doneness of added ingredients. a delicious hearty soup that clearly does not resemble anything 'left over'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wonderful soup! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States