Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Better than I expected, but not my favorite soup ever. Will likely make again when I have another ham bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My family and I love this soup! Now when we have it, I make it the day before. I leave it in the fridge (in the large pot) overnight. Chilling it brings the fat from the ham bone to the top. I scrape that off and then re-heat the soup on the stove top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Awesome soup/stew! Substituted/added some things per some of the other reviewers suggestions and some of my own. Substituted the following: Italian seasoned diced tomatoes for reg. diced tomatoes, canned pinto beans instead of kidney beans, yellow potatoes for the potatoes and diced instead of cubed, 4 cups of chicken broth instead of water/bouillon cubes (no msg that way), 1/3 each of yellow, orange, and red bell pepper instead of the green bell pepper and also diced. Added the following: 2 bay leaves, garlic powder, white pepper, salt, and sugar to taste( only about 3 teaspoons of sugar). Also added mashed potato flakes at the very end to thicken it per the request of my family. They like stews better than soups. The result was wonderful! Everyone like it, even my husband who lately has been adding hot sauce to everything for extra flavor. Also all the kids ( 4 of them) even the ones who won't touch veggies with a ten foot pole! Thanks for a great recipe and thank you other reviewers for all the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have varied it by adding black beans, adding more cubed smoked ham, use chicken broth/water half and half, use sweet potaoes. It's ALL good. You basically cant go wrong. I let this cook on low in my crockpot all day while I am at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
5 stars easy and really good! I have made this a few times already. Love it. I add whatever vegies I have until crock is full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this with a bone from a ham that my husband smoked. I made a few substitutions based on what I had - minced carrots for the peppers, pinto beans for kidney beans. Also added - 2 bay leaves, minced garlic, a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes, & extra pieces of leftover ham. I was not immediately impressed when it was time to eat (it seemed too watery), but my husband dove in & he enjoyed it. I left the lid off the crock pot & let it cook it down a little, & found that I liked the texture much better. It's more like stew now. For us, adding the extra ham was essential. We'll freeze some now & I'm sure we'll have it again (we've always got a ham bone). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
The recipe is great! Simple and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Loved it. I added celery and a bay leaf and it was delicious. I like the potatoes a little firmer so I boiled them and added just before serving. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love this recipe! It reminds me of mom's soup when I was a kid. The only thing I do different is add extra kidney beans, some green beans and some diced ham to add some more meat to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States