Ham Bone Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Instead of cumin, I threw in different spices (chives, onion powder, garlic powder, dill weed, celery salt, fresh ground pepper, a little hot sauce) and I threw in about a cup and a half of diced ham. Instead of regular milk, I used one full can of evaporated milk (it easier to cook with, imo). Very hearty and comforting soup. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I found this to have a lot of broth; I like my chowders nice and thick. Next time I think I'd use less chicken stock. Maybe use cream instead of milk. And pureeing just one cup of the chowder didn't add very much body. Great flavor though. I wasn't sure about the cumin but it was tasty! I added my potatoes and carrots about 2 hours before we ate dinner and kept it on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very tasty! I would hesitate to call it a "chowder" though. Not very creamy. But it was a big hit just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The cumin does not go with the ham. I can only image that those giving this a good review were very hungry when they ate the results &/or used very old, pre-ground cumin. I grind my cumin just prior to using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Yummy yummy flavor, I used ham broth in place of chicken broth. You need more the 45 minutes to get tender vegetables. My dinner was 45 minutes late because of the miss timing. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by orangezest
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Subbed Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage for ham bone.Removed sausage casings and sliced each link into six equal parts.Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage and Cumin pair well.This is a very tasty chowder for a blustery day.I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangezest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
It's wonderful! Very easy, cheap, filling, and delicious! I loved it just how it was! I sort of wish that the blender part was explained because I did not understand it. Also, don't expect to have a super creamy, thick broth because it's not at all. Delicious soup but not thick. I also used dried parsley instead and it worked just fine. You'll love it! Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly ... it turned out great!! Great flavour, nice consistency - delicious. Better than alot of soup recipes I've tried. Will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States