Ham Bone Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Yummy yummy flavor, I used ham broth in place of chicken broth. You need more the 45 minutes to get tender vegetables. My dinner was 45 minutes late because of the miss timing. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Instead of cumin, I threw in different spices (chives, onion powder, garlic powder, dill weed, celery salt, fresh ground pepper, a little hot sauce) and I threw in about a cup and a half of diced ham. Instead of regular milk, I used one full can of evaporated milk (it easier to cook with, imo). Very hearty and comforting soup. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly ... it turned out great!! Great flavour, nice consistency - delicious. Better than alot of soup recipes I've tried. Will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
It's wonderful! Very easy, cheap, filling, and delicious! I loved it just how it was! I sort of wish that the blender part was explained because I did not understand it. Also, don't expect to have a super creamy, thick broth because it's not at all. Delicious soup but not thick. I also used dried parsley instead and it worked just fine. You'll love it! Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The cumin does not go with the ham. I can only image that those giving this a good review were very hungry when they ate the results &/or used very old, pre-ground cumin. I grind my cumin just prior to using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I found this to have a lot of broth; I like my chowders nice and thick. Next time I think I'd use less chicken stock. Maybe use cream instead of milk. And pureeing just one cup of the chowder didn't add very much body. Great flavor though. I wasn't sure about the cumin but it was tasty! I added my potatoes and carrots about 2 hours before we ate dinner and kept it on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very tasty! I would hesitate to call it a "chowder" though. Not very creamy. But it was a big hit just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by orangezest
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Subbed Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage for ham bone.Removed sausage casings and sliced each link into six equal parts.Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage and Cumin pair well.This is a very tasty chowder for a blustery day.I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangezest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States