Ham Asparagus Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Major improvements by: 1) use cream of mushroom soup instead 2) use 1/3 cup chopped onion instead of powder 3) spread layer of french fried onions on top under final layer of cheese before last 5 mins baking. With these changes it disappears fast - only enough for four in my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Satisfying dish, I used whole wheat trick by using half reg pasta and half whole wheat pasta. Did this in another recipe and husband was happy and said he could not tell and liked it. Same with this recipe, and I liked it too! Didn't have Ham so I used leftover Greek Grilled Chicken from last night, used cream of chix soup and steamed the asparagus in a wet paper towel in the micro, after dusting with spray butter and salt & pepper. Snack or appetizer idea, while I waiting for the oven to get to temp, I was tasting by picking a cut piece of asparagus and inserting into the penne pasta I had used, WOW cool idea... Throw in your own take on this one and I think you will be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this last evening using left over honey baked ham. I followed the recipe as written. My husband and I enjoyed it. I do think a little more milk would be better. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I look at every recipe as a suggestion, and I tweak it depending on what I have. Biggest change I made...used Cream of Chicken soup instead. Added red peppers and french fried onions on top. Didn't have any milk either but substituted a bit of sour cream and some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very good recipe! I made it for 2 people that had never had asparagus before, and they loved it! Was a tiny bit dry, maybe a little more milk or possibly some water next time. Great as a leftover too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fkirby46
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is an excellent recipe for someone who loves the taste of Asparagus! I didn't have the onion powder, so chopped an onion and added it while I was cooking the asparagus (6 minutes in the microwave) Was lacking the full amount of the corkscrew pasta, so tossed in some bowties. And since we love the cheese, added more on top than was called for. My husband said it was a "Do-Again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fkirby46

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This tasted pretty good; I'm wavering here between 3 stars and 4 stars. I used pre-cooked BBQ ham, bought at the local farmer's market, and tri-color natural vegetable rotini. I will use less pasta and more cheese in the future. It could use a little more oomph; perhaps some minced garlic would help. The suggested servings are way off. I found the original recipe as given to yield more like 6 to 8 servings, not the 4 servings originally suggested. So in the end, I wound up tripling the recipe for a church pot luck when I only needed to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Use kielbasa. Add red peppers. Yummy. diverse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
boring but good. I'd suggest peppering in some of your other favorite veggies to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Family loved it! I only had cream of mushroom soup. For more flavor I topped it off with crispy fried onions.... great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States