Ham Asparagus Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I used this recipe b/c I had some left over honey baked ham from Easter. I used an extra can of soup (had to use cream of celery as the store didn't have cream of asparagus). Also used about double the cheese. I also added some more spices such as garlic and a little red pepper. This isn't something I'd serve company, but it was good and I froze some and it was good reheated for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very good recipe! I made it for 2 people that had never had asparagus before, and they loved it! Was a tiny bit dry, maybe a little more milk or possibly some water next time. Great as a leftover too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Major improvements by: 1) use cream of mushroom soup instead 2) use 1/3 cup chopped onion instead of powder 3) spread layer of french fried onions on top under final layer of cheese before last 5 mins baking. With these changes it disappears fast - only enough for four in my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Quick, easy and kids loved it!!!!! I added extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is OK, will not make again, there isn't any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This really lacked in flavor. I had high hopes for this - it looks really good, but does not really do anything for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fkirby46
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is an excellent recipe for someone who loves the taste of Asparagus! I didn't have the onion powder, so chopped an onion and added it while I was cooking the asparagus (6 minutes in the microwave) Was lacking the full amount of the corkscrew pasta, so tossed in some bowties. And since we love the cheese, added more on top than was called for. My husband said it was a "Do-Again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fkirby46

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Satisfying dish, I used whole wheat trick by using half reg pasta and half whole wheat pasta. Did this in another recipe and husband was happy and said he could not tell and liked it. Same with this recipe, and I liked it too! Didn't have Ham so I used leftover Greek Grilled Chicken from last night, used cream of chix soup and steamed the asparagus in a wet paper towel in the micro, after dusting with spray butter and salt & pepper. Snack or appetizer idea, while I waiting for the oven to get to temp, I was tasting by picking a cut piece of asparagus and inserting into the penne pasta I had used, WOW cool idea... Throw in your own take on this one and I think you will be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States