Ham and Swiss Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was a yummy recipe for using up leftover ham. I didn't have the "scrambled egg" effect that some reviewers complained of. Perhaps because after I combined the noodles, cheese, ham, etc., and put it into the casserole I let it cool off for about 15 minutes while I was doing other chores before adding the egg/milk. Nice combination of ingredients. We enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I took the other reviewers' advice and subbed in a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of the mushrooms to give htis better consistency, which worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I have tried other recipes using cream soups, but after trying this one, I find that it is the best yet! The only change I made was to switch the swiss cheese with cheddar cheese, because I had that on hand. Absolutely delicious and my hubby is a picky eater. He loved it too! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Using feedback from other reviewers, I doubled the recipe and decided to skip the egg/milk combination and used a can of cream of mushroom soup mixed with a cup of milk instead. I also added a 1.5 cups of frozen peas (for color) and made it with a wonderful gruyere cheese - it was creamy, tasty and terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. The egg/milk combo added a nice texture and variation on the traditional 'noodles with meat and cheese' casserole. Made it exactly as the recipe directed and probably wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Saurer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Made this today to eat during the Rose Bowl parade. This is a bit hard for me to rate. First of all, I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese (good move). I omitted the mushrooms. I should have omitted the salt. This recipe is VERY DRY! I had read the other reviews and knew that it was dry and added a little extra milk, but wow, it really is a dry recipe. I should have compensated more and added sour cream or something. I did have a bit of the scrambled egg effect that others described, but it wasn't bad. I used butter to saute the onions instead of oil. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Enjoyed this recipe. I added a tablespoon or two of butter to it and a tad extra milk then covered it to bake it. Turned out very good ... much better than the overdone canned soup mix-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I read the reviews and made a couple of changes - I used 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 cup milk and 1 egg for my casserole. (I increased the serving #, thus increasing all ingredients.) I also didn't have egg noodles on hand, so used elbow. The casserole was delicious and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Very easy to prepare and very tasty. I added peas for color. This dish is delicious and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I have to admit I made a major change in the recipe. I had some leftover rice pilaf, so I added 4 C of that to substitute for the noodles. The pilaf had sauteed onions and garlic in it and was cooked in chicken broth. So I did not add extra onions. Also, I added the parmesan to the mixture (and added maybe a little more, too). Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. We all liked it and did not find it bland at all. I think I'll make it this way again. Thanks for the recipe. It's always good to find a new way to cook with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States