Ham and Swiss Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this exactly as written, except added frozen peas and carrots. It's not bad, but it's not great either, kind of bland and very dry. Should have paid more attention to the other reviews and added a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of the egg mixture. Or made it like a Tetrazzini, with a little white wine, cream and butter thickened with flour. It needs a little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was ok. I did use mushroom soup instead of mushrooms. Other than that everything was left the same. It wasn't bad, but I do not think we'll be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very good recipe. I used whole wheat rotini extra grated swiss and parmesan cheeses, and @ 1 cup canned milk rather than the regular milk and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is delicious and easy. I made 2 minor adjustments. I didn't use the 2 Tbs. of oil. The noodles were fine without it, I used 2 tsps. of butter to saute the onion. Secondly, I mixed all the ingredients together, rather than pouring the mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
It was a nice change from chicken or beef. I used elbow pasta instead of egg noodle and cheated with cream of mushroom soup instead of egg and milk and vegatable oil. I also added in sweet peas. Was pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This turned out to be much more of a brunch recipe. Next time I will double the noodles and ham and make 1/2 more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I used cheddar and fresh mushrooms. Added garlic too. Pretty tasteless and dry. I did not like the whole scrambled egg/sauce. Kind of just tasted like ham and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This had a good flavor, but wasn't at the top of the list. I used two cans of cream of mushroom soup, 2 cups of ham, and 2 cups of swiss cheese. Nice and creamy though. Dale enjoyed it, but isn't crazy about ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Thank you for a good recipe that does not call for the all- too-common "mushroom soup," or "cheese soup." I like cooking with real, natural, fresh ingredients. A good, wholesome, list of ingredients that tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, New York, USA
Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This reminded me of tuna noodle casserole. It came out very flavorful but a little dry. Maybe a little more milk would have done the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicMonty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States