Ham and Swiss Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was a yummy recipe for using up leftover ham. I didn't have the "scrambled egg" effect that some reviewers complained of. Perhaps because after I combined the noodles, cheese, ham, etc., and put it into the casserole I let it cool off for about 15 minutes while I was doing other chores before adding the egg/milk. Nice combination of ingredients. We enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Tasty meal - I didnt have swiss so I used cheddar instead. I cant wait to try it with swiss though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Okay... not too exciting... I left out the mushrooms because husband is allergic and I'm sure it would have been better with those, but it was still okay... I think I wasn't as enthused with this recipe because I really tasted the eggs and I'm not a big egg lover- especially in a dinner. I probably won't make again. I substituted fettucine noodles for the egg noodles and that worked out fine. Could have used more cheese and then some more taste. I wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This was delicious and super easy! Everyone loved it and asked for seconds! Will definitely make this again and again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
My husband is hard to please with casseroles but he loves this one,so do I Rachel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This was tasty but a bit heavy. This will be good for once in a while but normally I like something lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I have to admit I made a major change in the recipe. I had some leftover rice pilaf, so I added 4 C of that to substitute for the noodles. The pilaf had sauteed onions and garlic in it and was cooked in chicken broth. So I did not add extra onions. Also, I added the parmesan to the mixture (and added maybe a little more, too). Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. We all liked it and did not find it bland at all. I think I'll make it this way again. Thanks for the recipe. It's always good to find a new way to cook with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This was really a quick preparing dish. I didn't have any green peppers or minced onions so I used a small white onion chopped. I went with Amanda's idea and added 1/2 cup of water to the soup mix. It just didn't look like it was going to be enough of it to add to the mixture. Now I did cook it in the crockpot but turned the heat up to high and it only took 4 hrs to cook. Next time I'll add other veggies like carrots or even broccoli to it. I think the type of ham you use also decides the saltiness. Mine hardly had any salt in it and I think thats what made the difference on the flavor. Was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
My husband and I enjoyed this casserole although the egg mixture did kind of turn into scrambled eggs when it baked. I will make this again but will play with the egg mixture to try and get it a little smoother. Maybe a white sauce would work well? The flavor of the ham and swiss was delicious. I made one change and used whole wheat egg noodles instead of regular. I would recommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Easy to make and wonderful to consume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States