Ham and Swiss Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I substituted broccoli for the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was good, but I didn't think it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I replaced the mushrooms with a can of cream of mushroom soup, stayed with the 1/2 cup of milk and 2 eggs,,still a little dry but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Excellent! We're not mushroom people so I omitted the mushrooms and added cream of chicken soup to avoid the dryness mentioned by other reviewers. It was perfect - easy, fast and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Great recipe for leftover holiday ham. I had to add a little chicken broth due to it looking a little dry. I also used whole wheat noodles which were not bad at all. I highly recommend this recipe especially if you have children (my 14 month old LOVED it). A salad goes well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Made this today to eat during the Rose Bowl parade. This is a bit hard for me to rate. First of all, I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese (good move). I omitted the mushrooms. I should have omitted the salt. This recipe is VERY DRY! I had read the other reviews and knew that it was dry and added a little extra milk, but wow, it really is a dry recipe. I should have compensated more and added sour cream or something. I did have a bit of the scrambled egg effect that others described, but it wasn't bad. I used butter to saute the onions instead of oil. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Since I'm a big fan of Swiss cheese I had to try this.The taste of the cheese really comes through but it's not to the point of overpowering.My only complaint about this recipe is that it serves only 4,I wish I had noticed this before I made this.I was expecting this to last the better part of a week but I had it finished in 3 days.The next time I make this I'll double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
First, in answer to the previous poster – no, 2 cups is not equal to 16 oz with light things like noodles. The noodles are measured by weight, not volume. So 2 cups egg noodles would probably be closer to 8-10 oz. It’s a very easy mistake to make, though. I really liked this recipe. I changed a few things, mostly due to necessity. I went to the cupboard and realized I was out of egg noodles, so I used pasta shells. I added a generous pinch of dry mustard to the milk/egg mixture. I coarsely shredded the cheese, rather than diced it. And I did not sauté my onions first because I like the sharper raw-ish onion flavor. I didn’t use a whole cup, though. It did have a slight “eggy” texture, but that didn’t bother me. I liked it. I eat a breakfast pasta at a local restaurant that is very good and it reminded me of that. In fact, I may doctor this next time to get it a little closer to that – adding crumbled sausage, an extra egg, and some chopped peppers. But it is a very good recipe as it is. Very simple and filling. If you wanted some color, you could easily add some chopped broccoli or peas before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This is a solid four. It had a really good flavor when made with my leftover brown suger glazed Christmas ham. I upped the cheese and milk. It still was a little dry. I would decrease the amount of noodles next time. I used a 16 oz bag (2 cups right?) of noodles. I might just use 8 oz (1 cup) next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I used my leftover Christmas ham for this recipe. Overall, I liked it very much, however next time I would like try cheddar cheese instead of swiss. Also, I would use shredded cheese, as the cubes of cheese make melted "globs" in the casserole. I would also add more milk to make it creamier. Maybe cream of mushroom soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States