Ham and Swiss Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
EVERYONE loved this!!! Don't use a long and wide 3 qt casserole. (9X13?)Find something that is deeper. I've made this twice and a deeper 3 qt works better than the usual casserole dish. Didn't change a thing except for using extra shrooms. This is good! Give it up for Cynthia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Well I don't even know if I should be rating this recipe because I changed it so much! I omitted the swiss cheese from the casserole and added 1 can of cream of celery soup and a half can of cream of mushroom soup that I had leftover (in place of the eggs and milk). I also omitted the parmesan cheese, added fresh mushrooms instead of canned and added 2 cloves of garlic to the onion/mushroom mixture. For the topping, I crushed up 12 Ritz crackers and combined with 1 cup of grated old cheddar and 1 Tbsp melted butter. I baked it at 400 for 30 minutes and in the end, it was a very good/quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This was very good and had great flavor. I took the advice of other reviewers and used a can of cream of mushroom instead of the egg mixture, but I still used the milk and mixed it with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I have to say for a super auick meal it was great! I did not have any of the swiss cheese on hand so i used mozerella instead and I cant use mushrooms when I cook for my mom! but other than those things i think if i would have used the recipe as called for it would have been way better, but i will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Hubby didn't like this very much. It is one that I will make again when I know that I will have to have something that doesn't take a whole lot of effort. I add a can of peas in to get the veggie for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was really pretty good. I'm not as crazy about ham and cheese as my husband is, but he really enjoyed it. I omitted the mushrooms and used a cup of frozen peas, and I used a can of cream of mushroom instead of the eggs. That gave it a very creamy texture that was great. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Very good - I used chopped leftover ham. My husband was wary when I told him what was for dinner, but he enjoyed. The only problem was that I got the scrambled egg result, and I am not sure what caused it. I let the noodles sit for a good ten minutes before adding the milk and egg mixture. Nonetheless, a satisfying meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This has great flavor, but I thought it was dry. I definitely recommend baking it in a casserole dish that is deep rather than wide. I had too much crunchy top surface even though I baked it for only 20 minutes. The taste is good enough to warrant some playing with this recipe to make it better--perhaps the addition of cream of mushroom soup as others have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Good use of leftover ham. Nothing special, but pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was good. I too added a can of cream of mushroom soup which I felt was a necessary addition. I substituted the egg mixture for a toasted bread crumb topping (2 tbsp. melted butter & 1/2 c. bread crumbs). The second time I made this I subsituted sharp cheddar which I preferred over the swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States