Ham and Split Pea Soup Recipe - A Great Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Wow! I thought this recipe was too simple - and there was no way it could be a great soup with so few ingredients and seasonings. Boy was I wrong! I've already made it 3 times in the past 6 weeks - it is THAT good. I've been on the hunt for a great split pea soup and my search is done!! The only VERY MINOR tweaks that I made, were to add a carton of reduced sodium chicken broth instead of the quart of water (in addition to the 2.5 cups chicken broth), and a few carrots I had diced to add some color and texture. A word of warning, if you buy the pre-packaged diced ham (which is what I used), make sure you rinse it thoroughly before adding it, or it could make your soup too salty. I can't wait to have this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Yummy! After I devoured some myself, I froze the rest in individual portions to deliver to my father in law since split pea soup is his favorite. Next time I will double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good, indeed. Instead of onions, I used scallions (which I had an over abundance of from a previous recipe but sliced them very thin) and I chopped up two large carrots to be lightly cooked with the scallions, garlic and celery. I also added two large bay leaves broken in half for an added touch. I was unable to find a ham bone, so at the suggestion of the butcher, I used 3 smoked ham hocks cooked with the rest of the ingredients. I used 1 lb of a ham steak, cut up small, added when the soup was done. It was delicious. Did not add salt. The hocks were salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Briarcliff Manor, New York, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Great simple soup that reminds me of my grandmother's. I've made this several times since discovering this recipe a few years ago. Carrots make a great addition. For something different, try with bacon instead of ham and use 2 tbsp of the bacon fat to saute the onions and celery instead of the butter. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Delicious soup! I've been making it like this for years, usually just eyeballing the ingredients. I made as directed, but added some sliced carrots to the onion, celery, garlic saute as well. Turned out perfect and hubby and the kids gobbled it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is the best pea soup I've had since my parents used to make it.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was great. I am new to cooking, our family had left over ham from Father's Day Brunch and took left overs home and made soup for lunch for the week. It was easy for someone that can barely boil water to pull off and it tasted pretty good. Excellent with some warm French Bread and butter. Tends to be a bit cool and cloudy in LA in June this soup hit the spot. Can not wait until Fall and serve this at our Sunday Dinner's for my entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I used mostly stock and just a little water. I added 1/4 cup diced carrots and pureed the vegetables after sauteing them. I used a purchased smoked ham bone which added lots of flavor. I simmered the soup for 4 hours before eating so it was nice and thick. Delicious. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was one of the best pea soups that I have ever made. I used two smoked ham hocks and got lots of tender meat off of them. Used a bit more liquid to cover them, so thickened the soup at the end with some dried potato flakes. Worked great. This will be my base recipe from here on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Fabulous recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States