Ham and Split Pea Soup Recipe - A Great Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was great. I am new to cooking, our family had left over ham from Father's Day Brunch and took left overs home and made soup for lunch for the week. It was easy for someone that can barely boil water to pull off and it tasted pretty good. Excellent with some warm French Bread and butter. Tends to be a bit cool and cloudy in LA in June this soup hit the spot. Can not wait until Fall and serve this at our Sunday Dinner's for my entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I used mostly stock and just a little water. I added 1/4 cup diced carrots and pureed the vegetables after sauteing them. I used a purchased smoked ham bone which added lots of flavor. I simmered the soup for 4 hours before eating so it was nice and thick. Delicious. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was one of the best pea soups that I have ever made. I used two smoked ham hocks and got lots of tender meat off of them. Used a bit more liquid to cover them, so thickened the soup at the end with some dried potato flakes. Worked great. This will be my base recipe from here on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Fabulous recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
DELISH!! I have been making Pea Soup the same way for over 20 years and I have never ever "sweat" the onion, celery and garlic prior to adding the ingredients in the order of this recipe and I believe that THIS IS KEY to an AMAZING HAM & SPLIT PEA SOUP! I did a few things my old way such as simmered my ham bone for about an hour prior to starting the recipe. I removed ham off of bone and used all the leftover ham that I had sliced from the previous "baked ham" dinner. Instead of using chicken stock and water, I used the stock from the ham bone. I added everything in the same order as Chef John, let simmer for a few hours and then added approx. 5 peeled, cubed potatos and 6 cut up carrots to the soup and let simmer another one to two hours longer. I did simmer my soup on stovetop throughout the day for many hours (definitely stirring occasionaly). My family from ages 9 - 55 LOVED LOVED this soup. My husband stated that this was the ABSOLUTE BEST SPLIT PEA & HAM SOUP I have ever made. Thank you for the added tips and directions on adding ingredients in a "different way"! WOW, who would have known that it would make such A MAJOR DIFFERENCE!! I can't wait to go home after work to eat some more of this GREAT SOUP! BTW, I always double my recipe for my BIG EATIN FAMILY!! I did save some of my ham stock to add to the "thickened" soup if needed. My family LOVES my cooking, but stated that "my" recipes have become even GREATER since I found CHEF JOHN. LOVE YOU XOXOXOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Awesome recipe! Easy to make and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
YUMMY! Especially on a cold day. I live at 8800 feet in CO and simmered for an extra hour. I didn't have any ham and the soup was still very filling for my family. I added about 1/2 cup of diced carrots for me. This is an easy recipe and very good! Served with a side of french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
In addition, I pureed the soup when it was done. I have not been disappointed by anything Chef John has cooked. I could listen to him all day long. I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Oh my gosh! I need another stomach to hold all the soup I wish I could eat! I needed a split pea sou recipe that did not call for a ham hock or bone because I only had some ham frozen leftover... This is a great simple recipe that is so flexible. I had no bay leaves, and I prefer to use olive oil for sauteing... I also added two chopped carrots to the recipe. And just for kicks and giggles, I added about 3/4 cup pinot grigio in the last 30 minutes. It almost doesn't matter what you do to this recipe, as long as you have a pound of ham, a pound of peas, and some broth, you will be happy. If my stomach was not a finite vessel, I would have eaten the whole pot by now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This soup is delicious! I added one diced carrot and some powdered chicken bullion for extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States