Ham and Shrimp Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Excellent!!! I can't wait to make it again!! I couldn't get the sauce to thicken, so I made a small roux and added it to the finished dish and cooked it for a few more minutes. The flavor was awesome. No need to add the salt or ceyanne pepper. I served it on top of mashed potatoe, but it may even be better on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
We thought this was very good. I had some large shrimp I wanted to use up and a little bit of ham. This was the perfect solution. Our version was a bit spicy because I make my own Cajun seasoning and it leans toward the hot side. I also did cut back on the broth a bit and finish the gravy with a little heavy cream - like it needed more richness, but it was awesome atop some creamy grits. Classic southern Shrimp and Grits (from a Northerners perspective anyway). This would also work well over rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I thought this was brilliant... my hubby loves pasta so I poured it over some spaghetti noodles and it was a big hit ! I don't usually eat pasta but I want to eat some every week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
OMG that was sooooooooooooooo good and I am like his wife grits for me my hubby is out of town so I am making all the things he doesn't like he is not a fan of shrimp with this recipe was totally awesome keep posting recipes Chef John love your food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
We have always LOVED shrimp and grits and have tried many, many recipes. Today I tried this one since I had all the ingredients...even fresh jalapeno and some leftover ham. The video was very helpful because I don't usually cook things in butter enough but this turned out just like Chef John showed us. We really loved it and served it on grits with a little sharp cheddar added. Very easy and very good.... This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Really enjoyed this but added more cajun seasoning for my taste and it was wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I made this for my parents and myself. It was amazing I will definately be making this again. I followed the recipe excatly and used the video for reference, came out looking just the same. My sister-in-law who hates shrimp even tried it and loved it. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was amazing.....I put a splash of lemon juice in and used pickled jalapenos along with 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion. I used one large green bell pepper and it was wonderful. I will cook this over and over!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Wish I could give 4 1/2 stars. Very simple to prepare with a good combo of flavors....just not over the top. Just enough "zip" to make it interesting. Only thing I added was a little more garlic (because there is no such thing as too much garlic) and a splash of kitchen bouquet to enhance the gravy. Otherwise I follwed to the tee and served over creamy grits. Husband and son were pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States