Ham and Shrimp Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. Used garbanzo flour to make it lower in carbs and served over mashed sweet potatoes. DH was practically licking his bowl. Thanks for another super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Excellent!!! I can't wait to make it again!! I couldn't get the sauce to thicken, so I made a small roux and added it to the finished dish and cooked it for a few more minutes. The flavor was awesome. No need to add the salt or ceyanne pepper. I served it on top of mashed potatoe, but it may even be better on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
We thought this was very good. I had some large shrimp I wanted to use up and a little bit of ham. This was the perfect solution. Our version was a bit spicy because I make my own Cajun seasoning and it leans toward the hot side. I also did cut back on the broth a bit and finish the gravy with a little heavy cream - like it needed more richness, but it was awesome atop some creamy grits. Classic southern Shrimp and Grits (from a Northerners perspective anyway). This would also work well over rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I thought this was brilliant... my hubby loves pasta so I poured it over some spaghetti noodles and it was a big hit ! I don't usually eat pasta but I want to eat some every week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
OMG that was sooooooooooooooo good and I am like his wife grits for me my hubby is out of town so I am making all the things he doesn't like he is not a fan of shrimp with this recipe was totally awesome keep posting recipes Chef John love your food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
We have always LOVED shrimp and grits and have tried many, many recipes. Today I tried this one since I had all the ingredients...even fresh jalapeno and some leftover ham. The video was very helpful because I don't usually cook things in butter enough but this turned out just like Chef John showed us. We really loved it and served it on grits with a little sharp cheddar added. Very easy and very good.... This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Really enjoyed this but added more cajun seasoning for my taste and it was wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I made this for my parents and myself. It was amazing I will definately be making this again. I followed the recipe excatly and used the video for reference, came out looking just the same. My sister-in-law who hates shrimp even tried it and loved it. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was amazing.....I put a splash of lemon juice in and used pickled jalapenos along with 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion. I used one large green bell pepper and it was wonderful. I will cook this over and over!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Wish I could give 4 1/2 stars. Very simple to prepare with a good combo of flavors....just not over the top. Just enough "zip" to make it interesting. Only thing I added was a little more garlic (because there is no such thing as too much garlic) and a splash of kitchen bouquet to enhance the gravy. Otherwise I follwed to the tee and served over creamy grits. Husband and son were pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Bruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States