Ham and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JonR
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Didn't have mushrooms or brocolli or five potatoes. Used 20 oz frozen spinach (chopped in two directions after thawing - and saved the juice to thin out the cream cheese / sour cream / soup mixture which I heated a bit while mixing), 25 oz of diced cooked ham (responding to a comment that finding the ham was challenging), four medium potatoes, and 3/4 cup of crushed buttery round crackers. Cooked this for 55 minutes @ 350 then upped the temp to 360 for another 15 minutes, then added the crackers for another 10 minutes. The potatoes were still a bit crunchy, but overall the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Great comfort food. Used 8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
What a great recipe. I did make a few changes to accomidated my family. I omitted the green pepper and broccoli. I then increased the mushrooms to 16 oz and added 8 to 10 oz of fresh spinach. I also sautéed all the veggies except the spinach. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Followed the recipe as is. Gave 4 stars because it wasn't anything that anyone would be begging for, but it was a good way to use up left over ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tinalouise04
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This dish was really great! Everyone in my house loved it. I omitted the mushrooms & crackers on top but next time I would put them in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good!! I was a little concerned that the potatoes weren't gonna cook through, so I looked at some of the other reviews and my thoughts were shared. I did a little pre-cook, so the potatoes were about half way done. I added some fresh parsley and that was it. It was very yummy!! My daughter, the comfort food queen, absolutely loved it!! It's a great go-to meal when I'm crunched for time or need a warm bowl full o' yummy on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This recipe was tasty but took much longer to cook than the 40 minutes called for. I don't know what might be different about my oven, but it took over an hour to get the potatoes soft enough. Next time I would definitely pre-boil the potatoes so they are already just about cooked. Everything else was done but the potatoes were still crunchy. For our family's taste, the lack of herbs did leave it a little bland. I ended up adding fresh thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
When I first cooked it, I substituted orange and red bell peppers as I'm not fond of green and added garlic as that wasn't on the list of ingredients. I used fresh broccoli and used thick-sliced crimini mushrooms. I used black forest ham. Even with that, the recipe was overwhelmingly bland. I mean - you have white spuds, white soup, white cream cheese, white monterey jack and white sour cream. It was not only bland, but boring to look at. So, I took the leftovers and added a lot more in the way of bell peppers - got the mini red/orange/yellow ones, threw in more sauteed onion and garlic and a bunch more ham. Didn't feel like making white sauce like bechamel for moisture so i used a jar of alfredo sauce I had on hand. The reprise of this was SO much better and got far more enthusiastic reviews from my family and friends. So, if you want yours to be tasty, kick it up a notch. Food should be appealing to look at as well as flavorful and the original recipe was simply disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I took the advice of Leslie and used a 28 oz. bag of potatoes O'Brien to replace the first 3 ingredients. I didn't add mushrooms,celery or broccoli, but used cream of broccoli soup. Instead of cracker crumbs, I used French Fried Onions. Was delicious. My only change the next time would be to bake the potatoes a 1/2 hour or so before adding everything else to soften them up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was exactly what I was looking for and it turned out delicious! Pan size will be an issue if your potatoes are too large. I made this recipe my own and left out veggies I did not want and added more of another I liked. I precooked the potatoes but not the veggies - I prefer my veggies firm. I put part of the shredded cheese in the sauce mixture and part of it I sprinkled on top of the cracker crumbs - helped cracker crumbs not to burn and toasted the cheese nicely. This is a great basic recipe that you can change to your own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildBranch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States