Ham and Pineapple Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
What a wonderful recipe for those rushed weekday meals. I was done and had dinner on the table in twenty minutes or so. I used the olive oil and garlic flavored couscous and cut down on the garlic powder. I personally didn't find the red onion to be too much, and used what the recipe called for. The dressing is perfect - adds a touch of flavor, but doesn't overwhelm the other ingredients. I will absolutely be making this again - thank you for sharing this recipe, Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was fabulous! The onion was a little strong, so I only put in half of the amount the recipe called for, as my husband doesn't like onions, and glad I did, when I read the other reviews. It didn't say how much mustard, so since I'm not a big fan, the 1st time I put in 1 teas. It was perfect. 2nd time, I put in 2 teas. just to see, and it wasn't quite as good as it was the first time, but still very good. I think the pineapple juice with the oil and just a touch of the mustard is what makes the whole dish so flavorful. I'm planning to serve this at Easter, as a side salad, and tripple the recipe to make sure there's enough for all, but I'll be loving any leftovers. Husband and I and both kids liked this very much, and that's saying something being that I have a child with autism who is quite picky! It would make a great summer salad, and it's nice to find something summery that is an alternative to a salad that contains mayo. Could take this along on a picnic, without worrying that the mayo would go bad. With the ham, I bought it already cubed in small bits, as Walmart sells it already finely diced in a 16 oz. package. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I wasn't a big fan but my husband liked it. This was the first time I had eaten a ham salad and I think it's just not my thing. I used quinoa instead of couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mulino, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I love this recipe. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned. And edamame instead of peas. It is a really refreshing lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
this was a fantastic potluck salad and was even better the next day as the mustard flavour came out a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Made this recipe but substitued smoked salmon for the ham to keep the sodium lower. I was also concerned about the strenth of the red onion so I used a medium shallot instead. End result was great and reduced the sodium to 322mg and calories to 340.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I liked all of the flavor combination except the red onion. It overpowered everything else. Very easy to make. I'll skip the onion next time, but definitely try this again. Maybe more pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was an easy, tasty meal. I substituted lima beans for the peas, used much less onion, used a large can of pineapple, and added fresh basil. The leftovers were fairly dry since the couscous absorbs so much liquid, so I will likely increase the dressing when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Most family members enjoyed this. I think it has a great flavor, however I did double the dressing portion. The 2 year old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This is great, but the 4 serving size with 1 cup of couscous makes a LOT! I'm going to cut back next time. I used mandarain oranges instead of pineapple (thought I had some and didn't) and it was great. I do plan to use pinapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States