Ham and Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Giving this a five star rating with my changes. I just made this for the first time today July 1, 2013. After reading the reviews I made the following changes. First of all I used whole wheat egg noodles. I used a mixture of cheddar cheeses already shredded by Sargento although you can use any combination of cheeses you like. The Sargento package says 1 and 7/8 cups. Close enough. I also added milk as it seemed dry when I mixed it up. I used about a cup of milk maybe a bit more until I felt it was creamy enough. I like to use croutons that I put through my chopper, usually cheddar and garlic, instead of bread crumbs as they add a bit more flavor. The result was terrific. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe because it is so easy to twice. I used cream of mushroom soup and added sliced raw mushrooms and frozen peas. Took the suggestion of another reviewer and used crushed Ritz crackers on the top. The biggest thing I changed is the assembly , I did not put the noodles in with the other ingredients but when I baked it, but served them separately. The noodles would have sucked up the liquid and make the casserole dry. I did bake the other ingredients for 45 min. at 350 degrees so the cheese, mushrooms and onion would cook. It was delicious. Could use tune or chicken in this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight to use up some leftover ham. Pretty much followed the recipe, but, had to use what I had on hand. Substituted cheddar cheese for the swiss cheese and onion powder in place of the diced onion. Used 1.5 cans of cream of mushroom instead of chicken. It seemed like it would be dry without more soup and a little splash of milk. Baked for 30 minutes and then topped with some Colby Jack cheese instead of bread cumbs, never have liked that texture. I liked that this made a 2 qt. casserole (instead of 3 qt.) because we usually have too much leftover. This was a big hit with the family and will definitely be made again!! Thanks Kelli for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I only had one cup of ham on hand, so I substituted the 2nd cup with chicken and it tasted great! It was a little dry and could use some milk. But it was overall a great casserole. My kids loved it! Which gives this recipe an automatic 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Good basic casserole recipe. I would make it again for leftover ham or a quick dinner but I would not make it for other people. It was very easy to make and I would make it again for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishlass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This was excellent. Tweaked the recipe by substituting sharp cheddar instead of Swiss cheese...added sauteed celery and onion and some frozen peas (for color)...prepared mustard and a pinch of nutmeg (for zing) and a bit more milk. Will definitely make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Yes ....I have tried this recipe and both my husband and I love it Very nice and moist and the taste was so hummy , I give this a 5 Star as it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Good, basic recipe. **Changes: Sauteed 1/3 of an onion in butter, then added 2 garlic cloves and sauteed a minute or two more. We don't like onion to overpower....and love garlic (which we didn't even taste) Used macaroni noodles and threw about a cup of the 4 cups that I cooked; knowing it would have left the dish too dry (using 4 cups) Added 1/2 cup sharp cheddar, (1 1/2 c swiss per recipe) and about 1/2 cup peas (just our taste). 1/2 cup milk and Cream of Chicken soup- not mushroom. Used Italian bread crumbs mixed with melted butter and some fresh shredded parm--my go to! It was a quick, easy, tasty dish! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Fabulous quick and easy get use for leftover ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I really like this recipe. It has a wonderful taste, it has to be from the swiss cheese. What I did differently from the first time I made it was to add about 3/4 cups of milk to make it a little creamier. It was great.Sweetie and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idabug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States