Ham and Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Delicious! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moberly, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Very tasty bean soup. I didn't have any ham on hand so I used a couple slices of thick cut bacon. That was the only changed I made. My husband loved and and my son said he wished it were just a bit spicier. I liked it very much and I am not a big Lima bean fan. I think next time I will try baby Lima bean or northern beans, this recipe is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I leave out the jalepeno and add chopped celery. I also use a crockpot instead by soaking the beans overnight, bringing them to a boil in the morning and transferring to a crockpot. I also use chicken boullion instead of broth because I like the taste better. I usually use dried parsely instead of fresh, because it's what I have on hand, and Great Northwestern beans instead of lima. The recipe is pretty forgiving, so you can make changes to your liking and it still comes out great! My family (immediate and extended) all love this recipe. I've been making it about once a week lately because it's one of the few everyone will actually eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Even my kids loved it and they supposedly hate beans! We put ours on top of honeyed cornbread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellLea77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Ok, that was awesome! I used what I got at the farmers market this morning and will definitely make it again. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Wonderful and hearty. I had to substitute chicken cubes for the chicken broth, and dried parslely. Also, added 1 small can tomato sauce and used dried potato flakes, as recommended. Used 2 meaty ham hocks.This recipe is easy to adjust for substitutions. Will make again. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
If there were 100 stars available, they'd all be lite !!!!!!! ABSOLUTE DROP DEAD DYNAMITE!!!!! LOOK NO FURTHER!!! THANK YOU MILLIONS OF TIMES PAM FELDSTEIN!!!!!!!!!!! You can throw the rest of recipes in the trash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend because he loves ham and bean soup; I hate it. I was concerned that it I wouldn't know if it was good or not given my dislike for previous h&b soups, but I have to say THIS WAS GREAT. I'm a believer. I didn't change a thing and it was fabulous. Will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I tried this recipe and it turned out wonderfully. My husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great recipe and not so difficult to prepare. In order to make it even tastier I added a few slices of jamoniberico de bellota - aka iberico ham or patanegra- thinly cut. Because iberico has a strong and delicious flavor you do not need much, only 50 grams or 1.8 OZ for four people added once the soup is finished. You can buy your jamoniberico at BuyJamon.com BuyJamon.com buy jamoniberico online and have it delivered to your door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States