Ham and Hash Brown Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Fairly decent and easily modified with what you have on hand. Although...I decided the ham and cheese amounts excessive for 3 eggs (I even used XL eggs). So, I went with 1/2 C each of chopped smoked deli ham & shredded provolone (cheddar didn't appeal to me) and used 4 eggs. I used an 8" pie pan and I had around 2.5 cups of shredded potatoes (I had to shred my own spuds). I did shred them into a strainer that was submerged in cool water, drained then dried on a tea towel & fresh worked fine. I did toss the melted butter in the potatoes prior to forming a crust. I needed to use up red bell type pepper and 2 small green chili peppers that I had charred/peeled and diced. Oh yeah, I used 1/4 C ea of 2% milk and sour cream in the eggs and seasoned the potatoes a little bit b4 baking. I mixed a few Tblsps each of minced grn onion, provolone, parm shreds and pre-cooked bacon bits and topped the quiche right before it was completely set. With the quiche 6" from the flame I set to broil and a few minutes later...it looked and tasted great! I'll make this again with whatever I have on hand; but less meat/cheese then called for. Turned out 'just right' as dinner for the two of us. Great starting point and easily modified. Thanks for submitting the recipe Candace :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used bacon instead of ham and mild pepper rings instead of green pepper and added some leftover steamed asparagus. It is versatile enough you can add ingredients to your preference. Husband loved it. Great warmed up for a fast breakfast through the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taskins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Rockwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This was very good. I salted the potatoes after forming the crust. My husband would like a crispier crust next time so will try broiling it briefly at the end of the crust cook time. The whole quiche took about 15 minutes extra cook time to set. This morning my daughter requested leftovers for supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessieleine
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Good idea - I only had potatoes and didn't feel like making dough. The bottom gets a bit soggy, and I needed to jazz it up some. A light mix of cheeses instead of a ton of cheddar, a few more spices, and some spinach. Might try to figure out how to get the bottom of the crust a bit crunchier without burning the higher edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessieleine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this for a baby shower and it was a big hit. I have had several requests to share the recipe. It was very easy to make. Leftovers warmed up great in the microwave and tasted just as yummy the next day. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Will definitely make again - a big hit with husband & a guest. Added a few mushrooms & some garlic powder. Took about 10 more minutes to set up at 350°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was a great recipe. I did follow other posts advice and added some spinach and mushrooms. Also left out the pepper as I didn't have one on hand. Very, very tasty! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I served this for dinner and it got rave reviews - my husband actually told me how good it was four times during the meal and my picky eater went back for seconds in spite of the red pepper and the onion! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Great for brunch! It was aliile bland the frist go round so, on the second try i used 4 eggs, 2 extra tbls of milk, doubled the salt and pepper, 2/3 cup chopped broccoli and 1/4 cup sliced mushrooms. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States