Ham and Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Use 2 cans green beans, sprinkle a little garlic powder and tiny bit of salt over rice layer and do the rear as directed and it makes an awesome different easy dinner. Will certainly make again but might have to add a bit of bacon to lift it to the truly awesome level,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Cahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I made this recipe as a "Chopped" challenge. My husband (at my request) picked surprise ingredients and I had to figure out how to use my "basket" of ingredients to make supper! What fun. We have done this a few times and it is a hoot. Anyway, tonight he brought home two ham steaks, fresh green beans and an Uncle Ben's sun-dried tomato rice mix. I used these along with cream of mushroom soup and shreded jack cheese. Per another reviewer's advice, I partially cooked the rice mix first and steamed the green beans. We loved it!!! Nice easy weeknight meal, and a great Chopped challenge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was very easy and good. My whole family liked it. However,it is not as good the next day-best served hot out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was pretty darned good. My husband just had seconds ! As far as quick casseroles go, this one was better than most. I had to use grated cheddar instead of American cheese, which was very good. Next time, I will use 2 cans of green beans to give this dish a slightly healthier balance, but I must admit it was very satisfying. It is also a great way to use leftover ham. I'll make this dish again and may even try macaroni instead of rice, just to see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
surprising good and easy. Could use turkey, sausage` also and be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Great Recipe!! Hubby loved it too! The only thing I changed was the cheese. I used cheddar instead of white american. Will definitly make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Excellent way to use leftover ham. I had to substitute cream of mushroom soup for the cream of celery, and I added 1 Tbsp of Worcestershire sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Wonderul! My husband asked for seconds too and even told me I could make this again. I didn't have cream of celery soup so I used cream of mushroom with celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gtyyup
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
We thought the flavor was very satisfying and a great way to use leftover ham. We used the suggestion of using 2 cans of beans and liked it, but thought that an additional can of cream of celery soup would have made the dish more moist (balancing out the amount of rice), so we'll do that next time. We will make it again! Second time around: We preferred this version over my first. Changes from originally posted recipe: 2 cans green beans (drained), 1 can cream of celery soup AND 1 can cream of chicken soup (undiluted), 3/4 cup milk, 1 tbls Worcestershire. I baked it in a 9 x 13 inch glass baking dish. This seems to be a nice balance of flavors and moisture. It made two meals for the two of us. Good warm meal on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Good. Subbed shredded cheddar for the American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States