Ham and Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We liked this recipe. I used leftover beer bread from the night before and that added a great taste to the bread topping. We liked the crispiness of the bread topping with the creamy rice portion. It was great leftover too. We have now made this part of our rotation and will continue to use the beer bread for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AKLOPFEN
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Great way to use stale bread and leftover ham. I did add some seasonings to the ham mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I wasn't sure at first but this turned out to be a family favorite. I parboiled the rice and fresh greenbeans but it worked perfectly. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was very easy and very good. It was a great way to use up leftovers. I used instant brown rice and frozen green beans, thawed. Only had 4 slices of cheese so sprinkled about 1/4 cup mozzarella over the casserole that I had on hand. Very good recipe to use up what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coulter, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waverly, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gtyyup
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
We thought the flavor was very satisfying and a great way to use leftover ham. We used the suggestion of using 2 cans of beans and liked it, but thought that an additional can of cream of celery soup would have made the dish more moist (balancing out the amount of rice), so we'll do that next time. We will make it again! Second time around: We preferred this version over my first. Changes from originally posted recipe: 2 cans green beans (drained), 1 can cream of celery soup AND 1 can cream of chicken soup (undiluted), 3/4 cup milk, 1 tbls Worcestershire. I baked it in a 9 x 13 inch glass baking dish. This seems to be a nice balance of flavors and moisture. It made two meals for the two of us. Good warm meal on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Wonderul! My husband asked for seconds too and even told me I could make this again. I didn't have cream of celery soup so I used cream of mushroom with celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I made this recipe as a "Chopped" challenge. My husband (at my request) picked surprise ingredients and I had to figure out how to use my "basket" of ingredients to make supper! What fun. We have done this a few times and it is a hoot. Anyway, tonight he brought home two ham steaks, fresh green beans and an Uncle Ben's sun-dried tomato rice mix. I used these along with cream of mushroom soup and shreded jack cheese. Per another reviewer's advice, I partially cooked the rice mix first and steamed the green beans. We loved it!!! Nice easy weeknight meal, and a great Chopped challenge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Good. Subbed shredded cheddar for the American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
It's not bad -- good for using up my leftovers from Thanksgiving (we had ham instead of turkey). I used the leftover ham, fresh green beans, and some rolls and it came out pretty good. Oh, didn't have the cream of celery, so used cream of mushroom. I really liked the topping, but felt there was too much rice. I think if I make it again, I'd use less rice. Give it a try - it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States